Thursday, October 17, 2019

Photo Booth APP


Recently I needed a portrait of myself. I have been avoiding the camera for a while now. There are just too many other people and things  that make much better  photos. But I went to my computer and sat in my chair. Without any problem at all I used the photo booth app on my Mac .  Unlike stretching my arm a mile, it was so easy to get a photo quickly without any help. I'm posting it here because unlike most of my pictures, it looks better than I do.


Wednesday, October 16, 2019

I Can't Believe



I can't believe it has been so long since I've posted here. It certainly is not for a lack of pictures. I've just gotten behind on everything, can't think or work as fast as I had been. So please bare with me as I try to catch up on everything.

As you can tell this layout  is from John and Caleb's recent trip to Chinas and the great wall. 

If you can't  read the saying by Confucius, this is what it says, "Wherever you go, go with all your heart." I would say that we have travelers here who were doing just that.

I hope to be back to the computer with more and more layouts. Sorry I was away so long. It is a joy for me to share my love of scrapbooking and my family with you.


Sunday, October 6, 2019

The Great Wall of China


This excited mother and grandmother is so anxious to let you know that  my son and grandson, John and Caleb have returned safe and sound from China, where they traversed the Great Wall at Jinshangling. I will be making lots of layouts later, but I'm just showing a few pictures together now without any embellishments. Since they took so many pictures, I may do something more simple that making artistic layouts.



Monday, September 30, 2019

Picture Day at School



 Our handsome grandson Oliver is in kindergarten in Colorado.  It was hard to decide, but his mom and dad made up their minds and Oliver's as well to send him to the same IB school as his older brother.  It is so good to see him march off  to school hand in hand with his Caleb.

I'm sure he will get along well and made good friends. He is very kind hearted and we love him very much.

Sunday, September 29, 2019

TuTu Cute


Back in July when Beth and the kids were visiting her relatives in the Columbus area, Julia's cousin Katie was a good influence on her. Here she is teaching Julia a ballet step.  In her family, dance is a must.  It surely looks like Julia is picking it up quickly.

Saturday, September 28, 2019

Hawk's Nest State Park


John and his family enjoyed seeing Hawk's Nest in West Virginia with his sisters April and Kim at the end of July.

I would like to see it this fall,  to see if the colors are as beautiful as I imagine. Perhaps we can do that. It really isn't that far.


Thursday, September 26, 2019



While at April's, Beth took some beautiful photos of  Swallowtail butterflies.


Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Beautiful Memories

You know me...aging, slowing, way behind, yet, I found time today to make a cover for my next  book to be published. Now I'm  waiting for permission to go to press.

I just stumbled my way through this creation.  That's the kind of thing that pops up now and then without preplanning. Amazing how that happens. Oh I love working with Photoshop.


Sunday, September 22, 2019

Nature Hike

 I'm posting photos layout from May. I just found these pictures this month, which somewhat explains why I had not posted them before  that.  The kids have been very appreciative, but  I am just working way too slowly.

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Big Surprise

I'm not sure if this was a good surprise or what. It was good in that I love the pictures and would feel really badly if I didn't have them...the down side is, I almost had the book published before I found these photos.  Thankfully I found them soon enough to get them in chronological order in the right book.

Today I'm posting two of them here:




By the way, don't you just love the colorful rain gear? I do!


Thursday, September 12, 2019

Remodeled Kitchen


I've been working on layouts about our youngest son, John's family trip to visit his sisters in West Virginia and Marietta at the end of July. He had not been to either place and it turned out to be entertaining for all of them. With a river running near both houses, there was a lot of fun to be had. 

Here is just an initial meeting in April's last house, which their sister Kim now lives and takes care of things there for April. The kitchen looks quite different from the last time I saw it. Both girls  do great jobs of remodeling and decorating. 

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Delightful Memories

Ava enjoyed having her grandpa and Uncle Brandon here. Grandpa came from Florida and Brandon flew in from Alaska, where he has been working.

The big reason for getting together was Brandon's and Ava's birthdays are on the same date, August 17. Brittanie and Ava were very happy to have this chance to be together with these guys. It was a good  time for a boat ride on the lakes.

Monday, September 9, 2019

National Dog Day


National Dog Day is August 26. But sadly Maggie had never celebrated. 

Our anniversary is the same date and we didn’t even know it was HER day. 

This year she got to do her favorite thing to celebrate HER day!
She got to be a tom boy and help her daddy with the truck and tractor. 
I don't know anything she would enjoy more, except maybe driving the boat  around the lakes.

Sunday, September 8, 2019

Kayaking the Kanawha






While visiting his sisters at April's house in Glen Ferris, WV,  John, Beth and Caleb went kayaking on the Kanawha River which runs in front of April's mountain house.

The day before, they had taken a jet boat ride on the New River.  The New River is recognized as the “second oldest river in the world”. After leaving NC, the river flows northwesterly through Virginia and becomes the Kanawha  River at the confluence of the Gauley  River near Charleston, WV.

Monday, September 2, 2019

A Cat Nap


Maggie is our watch dog and she takes her job seriously...a little too seriously at times. Here she is watching  over her daddy while he catches a nap. One might call it a catnap. I'm not  sure why, but anyway, she is there for him.

Sunday, September 1, 2019

Colorado Vacation




I had planned to post these yesterday with the layout that explains this trip. I have worked out my computer problem and now can finish what I started.

They did a lot in a short time and then went back to a more normal life at work and school.


Saturday, August 31, 2019

24 Hour Vacation



Frontier Airlines recently offered free flights for anyone with the last name Green or Greene. What a deal. One could go anywhere and back on Frontier. Our daughter and her family jumped on the offer and after ruling out many places, they chose a place they had not been...Colorado.  Since school was in session and they couldn't go on the weekend, they chose to go and return from Tennessee on the same day.  They used it as  an opportunity to visit a college and  to see  the Garden of the Gods.

I had planned to put 4 layouts on the post, but for some reason  I was able  to convert this page to web size with my ImageWell app. However, it  went hooey when I tried to reduce the size of the next layout. That has never happened before and it is completely discombobulating to me. My computer is
an enigma to me.  Guess I need to call in my computer guy husband! But that will have to be later when he has the time. So maybe tomorrow you will get to see more about this memorable time.

Thursday, August 29, 2019

2020 Class of Seniors


Knowing these students,  I'm pretty sure the rest of the year will be more serious.
This class of 2020 should have good in'sight' into the future. 


Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Farm with Family



While Caleb, Oliver and Julia were in the Columbus area, they visited with their older cousins Katy and Patch. All of them enjoyed going  to the Slate Run Historical Farm.

Monday, August 26, 2019


One month ago, our triplet grandchildren celebrated the big 17! Yes, already. How do they grow up so quickly? 

This is the first year they had trouble getting together long enough to eat some cake. You ask why two cakes? I asked the same question. I should have known. One has no gluten. 

They are three born within minutes of each other. They are much alike and  different in many ways. Each has his/her own talents and strengths. We're proud of them.

Sunday, August 25, 2019

Mommy and Daughter


I'm  really loving the photos  I'm getting of Ava this summer. She is at an age and temperament that makes her like having her picture taken. That is a welcome  that is hard to beat.  I didn't take these pictures myself, but I'm well pleased and I'm sure the one who took the  pictures was made happy with that cooperative attitude.  Ava is showing love to her mommy...such a sweet site.

Friday, August 23, 2019

Sky Diving Tandem





 
If I had known Brandon was planning this jump, I would have had duel feelings. At one time, I would have liked to do something like that, but it is different when someone you love is jumping  out of an airplane.  I did not know until after the jump...months after the jump.

I guess it was better that way. He had just been here and I knew he was ok. He was healthy and happy.  And oh yes, it was two days after his birthday and it was Aviation Day. I didn't even know there was such a thing.

Thursday, August 22, 2019


In July, Beth drove the three kids east to Ohio where they visited with her mother and sister. Her  sister Sarah's children Katy and Patch, entertained their younger cousins quite well.

This picture was taken in a hammock at Slate Run Historical Farm in central Ohio.

Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Goldfield Ghost Town

Mason and  Isaiah had been friends online with Emily for years,  but they had never met her. In July, Mason's dad went along on a trip across several states to meet her. 
The  boys enjoyed the meeting and seeing this cool old ghost town at Goldfield in Arizona.



                                      


Monday, August 19, 2019

Love That Breeze


This summer started out rainy. The 'spring rains' just kept coming and coming in torrents. Then it turned hot...VERY HOT as well. I feel a little badly about complaining about the humid heat, since so many people choose to live in places like that and others have no choice. But we chose to not live like that; but it has been given us this year anyway.  

I stay in air conditioned areas most of the time, but I do like to get  out to the swing once in a while and enjoy just watching the fish jump up, the birds fly over squirrels scurry by and water craft of all kind go by. 

This day,  I slipped out and put my legs up on the shaded seat of the swing, wishing to enjoy the fact that we live on the lake. But in no time, here came Ron and our little Maggie, who both wanted to share the swing. I really needed to keep my legs up out of the sunshine to prevent damage to my WHITE, easily burnt skin. So here we are piled onto the swing, both Ron and I with iPhones in our hands as if we were of a younger generation and had nothing to do but stick our noses in the phones. 

Yes,  we eventually put down the phones and enjoyed the view and the wonderful breeze from the lake.

Friday, August 16, 2019

Work Alaska


Brandon left his home in Florida for Alaska, when his job took him there for a couple of months. In my opinion, that was really a great opportunity in many ways...the first being to escape the heat in Florida during the summer.

We'll be seeing him tomorrow. He is here on his way from Alaska to his home to Florida. It is special time to see him because it is also his birthday. We will celebrate it as well as his niece, and our great granddaughter Ava's  birthday, which is also August 17.

Yes, it will be a pretty special day in this family!

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Tall Ships




Last month, Ava went with her mother, grandmother and her grandmother's friend, Ken, to Cleveland for the Tall Ships Festival. It was a good day at the festival and on the beach as well.

Ava is going to celebrate her birthday this coming Saturday. And next week she will be off to school.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Still Running



Well, I'm running again to catch up. All the while, I can't remember why I didn't post this yesterday. It was a long day, but not unusually so.

Notice, we are still back in July...on the eighth. Beth had taken the kids, Caleb, Oliver and Julia to Lory State Park in their area. It was a great place for hiking and for pictures. They produced some great smiles and made some good memories.

Monday, August 12, 2019

The Story of My Life



At present, the story of my life would have to begin with, 'she was always trying to catch up'.
Here it is over a month later and I've just made these layouts of our Independence Day celebration
here at the lakes.

At the top were Phyllis and Judith, friends whom we invited to join us for the fireworks. The guys are sitting behind me in the second picture. Ron was at the wheel and Maggie on my lap. The story about why in the world a dog would be at the fireworks is there as well. Let's put it this way, it was not my idea. Anyway, we all lived to tell about it.

Although the fireworks were delightful. I didn't take any pictures because I was dealing with the dog. 


Sunday, August 11, 2019

East Liberty Park Fun


The East Liberty Park is only 5 minutes away from our house, so it is a good place to go to burn off some energy. Here is our little Julia doing just that. Thankfully Mommy had a camera.  

Friday, August 9, 2019


While the grandchildren were here, this little spoiled one, who is used to being the center of attention became a recluse, often hiding  out in another part of the house from the activity.  

Since they left for home, she has reclaimed her 'rights' and has once again become the one we give  our  all to please.

I say she is spoiled, but it isn't because we  buy her all kinds of things. She is simply happy with a plastic water bottle...and those are quite plentiful around here. She will chase after them, bat them around the house and play keep away. She will grab it and run from us expecting we will run after her and we do. 

We love you Maggie. You keep us young...well maybe not, but you do try.

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Glen Helen Nature Preserve


Here are our beautiful grandchildren, who were wading in the Little Miami River at Glen Helen Nature Preserve, near Yellow Springs, when they visited with their mother's family. 

I'm so glad they got to see their other grandmother, Aunt and Uncle and cousins  on their way here. They always find wonderful things to do and see. But I was still anxiously awaiting their visit.

I'm always thankful for any photos that I get and this one is especially lovely.

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Family Fun


Back in 1989 we took a picture of John with his dad at Christmas. I recently saw online where people were finding old pictures and recreating them years later. We did that with this first picture, where we had John, now 6'2"  sitting on his dad's lap. That was really funny. Then we decided to do a similar shot with John and his son Caleb. This is the result. We really enjoyed finding similar surroundings and mimicking the shot. It was great fun. We loved the result. So I think we'll be doing this again and again whenever we are together.  I recommend it highly.

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

I'm Back

So sorry. I have been blessed to be very busy.  I have  enjoyed having our youngest son and family here for too few days.

They visited with two of his sisters on the way to our house and her mother and sister before that...so there are LOTS of pictures  for my book.  I just need to get some little  things done before  I jump in and make that  next book.

Tonight I'm using a picture that John gave me from before they got here. It is of Julia, our youngest grandchild who doesn't want to miss a thing...NOTHING.  You'll understand when you look at this layout.    

                          

Crating this  page was fun for me, even if it wasn't a great picture of her, it shows her fortitude. Love  these kids. You'll be seeing more of them soon.

Monday, July 29, 2019

ORU at O'Charley's


What was planned as a birthday dinner, turned out to be just a cheer me up get together, when one of the birthday girls chose her grandchildren over us. Yes, we were just fine with that. We would all have done the same thing.

Paulette is one of our July birthday girls, but she got the chance to take her grands to Canada for the week. They had a great time.

The rest of us fared well also. Since we already had this outing planned, we went with it. We really appreciate these fun dinners which are farther apart than they were when we were younger and more stationary.

This time we chose a restaurant that was closer to home and it turned out to be a very good choice. Our evening exuded with happiness there at O'Charley's.

Local members of ORU present: Sali, Jane, Phyllis, Becky and me, Lou Ann