Monday, August 19, 2019

Love That Breeze


This summer started out rainy. The 'spring rains' just kept coming and coming in torrents. Then it turned hot...VERY HOT as well. I feel a little badly about complaining about the humid heat, since so many people choose to live in places like that and others have no choice. But we chose to not live like that; but it has been given us this year anyway.  

I stay in air conditioned areas most of the time, but I do like to get  out to the swing once in a while and enjoy just watching the fish jump up, the birds fly over squirrels scurry by and water craft of all kind go by. 

This day,  I slipped out and put my legs up on the shaded seat of the swing, wishing to enjoy the fact that we live on the lake. But in no time, here came Ron and our little Maggie, who both wanted to share the swing. I really needed to keep my legs up out of the sunshine to prevent damage to my WHITE, easily burnt skin. So here we are piled onto the swing, both Ron and I with iPhones in our hands as if we were of a younger generation and had nothing to do but stick our noses in the phones. 

Yes,  we eventually put down the phones and enjoyed the view and the wonderful breeze from the lake.

Friday, August 16, 2019

Work Alaska


Brandon left his home in Florida for Alaska, when his job took him there for a couple of months. In my opinion, that was really a great opportunity in many ways...the first being to escape the heat in Florida during the summer.

We'll be seeing him tomorrow. He is here on his way from Alaska to his home to Florida. It is special time to see him because it is also his birthday. We will celebrate it as well as his niece, and our great granddaughter Ava's  birthday, which is also August 17.

Yes, it will be a pretty special day in this family!

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Tall Ships




Last month, Ava went with her mother, grandmother and her grandmother's friend, Ken, to Cleveland for the Tall Ships Festival. It was a good day at the festival and on the beach as well.

Ava is going to celebrate her birthday this coming Saturday. And next week she will be off to school.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Still Running



Well, I'm running again to catch up. All the while, I can't remember why I didn't post this yesterday. It was a long day, but not unusually so.

Notice, we are still back in July...on the eighth. Beth had taken the kids, Caleb, Oliver and Julia to Lory State Park in their area. It was a great place for hiking and for pictures. They produced some great smiles and made some good memories.

Monday, August 12, 2019

The Story of My Life



At present, the story of my life would have to begin with, 'she was always trying to catch up'.
Here it is over a month later and I've just made these layouts of our Independence Day celebration
here at the lakes.

At the top were Phyllis and Judith, friends whom we invited to join us for the fireworks. The guys are sitting behind me in the second picture. Ron was at the wheel and Maggie on my lap. The story about why in the world a dog would be at the fireworks is there as well. Let's put it this way, it was not my idea. Anyway, we all lived to tell about it.

Although the fireworks were delightful. I didn't take any pictures because I was dealing with the dog. 


Sunday, August 11, 2019

East Liberty Park Fun


The East Liberty Park is only 5 minutes away from our house, so it is a good place to go to burn off some energy. Here is our little Julia doing just that. Thankfully Mommy had a camera.  

Friday, August 9, 2019


While the grandchildren were here, this little spoiled one, who is used to being the center of attention became a recluse, often hiding  out in another part of the house from the activity.  

Since they left for home, she has reclaimed her 'rights' and has once again become the one we give  our  all to please.

I say she is spoiled, but it isn't because we  buy her all kinds of things. She is simply happy with a plastic water bottle...and those are quite plentiful around here. She will chase after them, bat them around the house and play keep away. She will grab it and run from us expecting we will run after her and we do. 

We love you Maggie. You keep us young...well maybe not, but you do try.

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Glen Helen Nature Preserve


Here are our beautiful grandchildren, who were wading in the Little Miami River at Glen Helen Nature Preserve, near Yellow Springs, when they visited with their mother's family. 

I'm so glad they got to see their other grandmother, Aunt and Uncle and cousins  on their way here. They always find wonderful things to do and see. But I was still anxiously awaiting their visit.

I'm always thankful for any photos that I get and this one is especially lovely.

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Family Fun


Back in 1989 we took a picture of John with his dad at Christmas. I recently saw online where people were finding old pictures and recreating them years later. We did that with this first picture, where we had John, now 6'2"  sitting on his dad's lap. That was really funny. Then we decided to do a similar shot with John and his son Caleb. This is the result. We really enjoyed finding similar surroundings and mimicking the shot. It was great fun. We loved the result. So I think we'll be doing this again and again whenever we are together.  I recommend it highly.

Tuesday, August 6, 2019

I'm Back

So sorry. I have been blessed to be very busy.  I have  enjoyed having our youngest son and family here for too few days.

They visited with two of his sisters on the way to our house and her mother and sister before that...so there are LOTS of pictures  for my book.  I just need to get some little  things done before  I jump in and make that  next book.

Tonight I'm using a picture that John gave me from before they got here. It is of Julia, our youngest grandchild who doesn't want to miss a thing...NOTHING.  You'll understand when you look at this layout.    

                          

Crating this  page was fun for me, even if it wasn't a great picture of her, it shows her fortitude. Love  these kids. You'll be seeing more of them soon.

Monday, July 29, 2019

ORU at O'Charley's


What was planned as a birthday dinner, turned out to be just a cheer me up get together, when one of the birthday girls chose her grandchildren over us. Yes, we were just fine with that. We would all have done the same thing.

Paulette is one of our July birthday girls, but she got the chance to take her grands to Canada for the week. They had a great time.

The rest of us fared well also. Since we already had this outing planned, we went with it. We really appreciate these fun dinners which are farther apart than they were when we were younger and more stationary.

This time we chose a restaurant that was closer to home and it turned out to be a very good choice. Our evening exuded with happiness there at O'Charley's.

Local members of ORU present: Sali, Jane, Phyllis, Becky and me, Lou Ann

Sunday, July 28, 2019

The Ohio River


Ron and his friend Bob drove down to Marietta  to check out some small shops.  Our two oldest daughters live down that way and joined  the guys in touring the small city. Thankfully, Bob got a photo of April and Kim with their dad for me.  The girls have been here briefly for a little visit since then, but I never get to see them enough.  I love the pictures with their smiles to cheer me up some times.
By the way, I need  to say that Ron is truly fascinated  by this river with its floods. He has a app on his phone that tells just  how high the river is at present. Actually, he never had an interest in that fact until April moved  right beside the river. So it is a personal thing with him.



Friday, July 26, 2019

Pampered One

 

It may not look like it here, but our dog is quite pampered. You wouldn't believe how I grind up chicken for her, keep it in the freezer, then heat it in the microwave along with her kibble. And when bed time comes, she hops up on her  big king sized bed, but fortunately she does allow us to sleep with her.

Tuesday, July 23, 2019

More Midwest Anime



I'm sure Ashely enjoys these anime meetings  more than I do, but I'm not sure how. It is always a lot of fun for me to see these pictures of each character she portrays so very well. This is  Kagome 
Higurashi from Inuyasha.

Monday, July 22, 2019

Stars and Stripes Forever


Here is more from Independence Day, July 4th. I'm so glad  to have gotten these pictures of our grandkids, taken at the parade in their home town.

I have lots of cool papers, etc for July 4th, but we didn't get many pictures of our celebration here at the lakes. There were  two other couples with us and we had lots of fun, but I won't have much to show for it as far as layouts go.  Here at the house, I have left up my decorations this year. I really want to show my love for our  country; so I'm just not ready to put away the patriotic things.

Saturday, July 20, 2019

Midwest Anime



In the first week of July, Chicago hosted the Midwest Anime at the Hyatt Regency. Ashley was excited to go. Her mom and Mason went along and visited friends while they were in town. 

Ashley had  three characters that she played quite well while there, starting with Yoshimo from Date Alive on Friday night. Here are pictures depicting Yoshimo. The cape was an intricate design and Ashley's Aunt Tracie helped a lot to put it together for the cosplay.  I am not familiar with the one eyed rabbit that goes along with this outfit.  Perhaps if you google it, you may come up with his name and part.

Monday, July 15, 2019

It's a Parade



It was quite a pleasant surprise on a hot day at the 4th of July parade to see a Fort Collins policeman riding his bike and carrying a cooler with icy treats for all the kids. This made a very good impression on Caleb and Oliver, who got ice cream sandwiches and Julia who picked a pretty red, white and blue popcycle. God bless America.

Sunday, July 14, 2019


Yesterday you saw Ava with her great grandmother on a porch swing. Today's picture is also of Ava. This time she is sipping her tea.

Saturday, July 13, 2019

Porch Swing with Grandma



The term for grandmother in Ecuador is abuela.

Here is our little great granddaughter, Ava. She is visiting with her maternal grandmother, abuela, Ameda.  I'm hoping this layout will keep this sweet memory alive for Ava over the years.


Friday, July 12, 2019

Life Isn't Perfect


I've been putting a lot of time into my physical therapy and it has paid off. I'm feeling very good. My physical therapist was so impressed over the progress I've made that he cancelled  our last session. He told me to continue the good work at home, exercising every other day. He praised my hard work so much, that I asked him if I would soon be ready for the Olympics, which gave him a laugh.

I haven't been saving  time for doing layouts and that is one of the most enjoyable things to do. This evening I did this one of Ashley and her newly recolored hair, which was something that her new job required. I  love it. I didn't realize how very pretty it really is. I hadn't realized it was this long either.

Her birthday is coming up soon. She'll be 17... all too soon. What has happened to the time?


Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Little Fish


One of these days this little sweetheart will be swimming like a fish. In the meantime, we like to think she is the cutest little fish in the pool.  Here she is with her Mommy, Brittanie.

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Flash Back to 2018

I just found this picture and love it. It is our granddaughter and her fiancĂ©.  They were at a friend's wedding. When I started work on this layout, I was thinking the picture was taken this year on her birthday. Hopefully I'll get a real birthday picture soon. Until then, I'll just enjoy this one.



Sunday, July 7, 2019

America the Beautiful


John and Beth took the  kids,  Caleb, Oliver and Julia to the July 4th parade in Ft Collins. They really enjoyed it, especially when a police officer came down the street with a cooler and gave each child a special treat.

Independence Day is a great day to celebrate as a family. 

As our children grow, we hope that they grow in independence in a healthy way. We want them to become completely independent some day. We want them to be able to make wise decisions and to support themselves. 

That is not a whole lot different from why we celebrate July 4th. We are grateful that our forefathers made the decision to break off from the countries from which they came and especially the country  who wanted to reign over us with the same laws we were escaping. We were determined to become a free people, independent from Europe and dependent  on our God to guide us instead. It was a noble call. Freedom has been a great thing. We have had our struggles, but we were better for them. They taught us lessons. We had to fight to give women a voice. We had to fight to give all men and women equal treatment under the law and in practice. We did it. 

We were doing quite well until some who want us to fail and fall into socialism started dividing us into groups, women against men, blacks against their white brothers, rich against poor, college educated against self educated, moral against immoral, etc. It isn't right. We are all one, no need to divide  unless you are wanting to cause bad feelings and real trouble.

Lets pull together and defeat those who want to divide us.

Friday, July 5, 2019

Baseball Season


Back in June, on the 21st, the Phillies played the Miami Marlins. Lauren and Pat were there. It was a special day in that it was the first day of their vacation.

Both are hard workers who put their all into whatever they do. It was good to get a break, even if their team lost. 

Thursday, July 4, 2019

Independence Day 2019

Although today is Independence Day, we are holding off our big celebration until Saturday when we here at the lakes celebrate with fireworks over the lake.  

However, we did get to witness the greatest patriotic happening since  I was much, much younger. Actually,  I would rank it above anything I've seen. It was the speech by our president who gave a very good history lesson of our country. We watched our wonderful military planes flying over our National 4th of July military parade.

It was the joy of seeing the National Mall completely filled with people happy to see our president.  It  was the introductions of many heroes and the fact that Trump said  all the right things. God bless America. Our president said that we will never be a socialist country. I pray he is right about that and that the people of this country will remain free.  I won't have long to live, but I really want the best for my children and grandchildren.

My layout is not patriotic, but it shows someone else I love dearly...our little Julia. Last night, I posted a layout of her after her haircut. This one is  made of her pictures going  through the process of washing and cutting her beautiful blond hair.





Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Beauty Shop



Julia is so pretty. She surely can keep up with the boys, but she is definitely a girly girl as well. This was her first visit to the beauty shop for a haircut.   It was a beautiful day.

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Blue Heron



The blue heron came to the Cuyahoga National Park in  1990.  After they grew plentiful, we would drive up there to see their nests. However, in the last 5 years or so, they have migrated here to Portage Lakes and are now well represented here. One year I caught one fishing in our gold fish pond. I frightened him away and have not see any evidense that the heron have been back to the pond. 
They have  found  our boat house to be a good lookout and this fellow seems to have taken a liking to our yard. 

It's a little strange watching this blue heron 'walking' around the yard, acting as if it is his home. He certainly does not look able  to pay the taxes here.


Monday, July 1, 2019

Our Beautiful Ashley



Ashley changed her hair to go with her new job. We think she looks fantastic. I have several pictures and all are good, but  I just got them  tonight and  haven't had time to put the others in a layout yet.

I played with this one for some time, but finally decided  I like this rendition best...I think, well maybe I'll change my mind later before I publish the book. In the meantime, I'm quite pleased with her new look and this layout.

I can't help but mention another subject. Tonight I was able to see our president on the Tucker Carlson show at 8:00.  We enjoyed the interview of the president by Tucker.

They were in the east for the G20 Conference, and while there they made a memorable trip to Korea, North Korea that is.

I wish everyone could have seen it like I did, nothing was deleted. It is easy to see why our president does well with people. He truly likes mankind and wants the best for all.

God Bless America.

Sunday, June 30, 2019

Mason Sings



Mason loves to sing and we love to hear him. In the pictures above,  he is belting out the song Someone You Loved.  I have not heard him sing it. I haven't even heard the song. I guess I'd better get with it. It's time for FaceTime!

Saturday, June 29, 2019

Al Does It Right


Al takes care of a problem the best way he knows how. He takes matters into his own hands. This happened a couple of weeks ago. I told the story on the layout itself. I'm copying it here, so that if you are on your phone, you won't have trouble reading it.

Our little group is fond of Cracker Barrel. We like to get a round table. There is only one problem with this corner table, on the wall behind Al is a picture of a very homely woman  and she stares 
disapprovingly at us. I mentioned her eyes being on us, so Al did what he could. He covered her face with a napkin. If anyone else saw what he did, they said nothing. Perhaps she bothered them as well.

I don’t think she appreciates this layout either. Look at that
sour expression!

Friday, June 28, 2019

Remember This Moment



Can't believe  I haven't posted here since the 24th. There is no excuse for that! I just forget.

Well I didn't forget tonight, even though it has been a rough day here. Ron and I are both very sore, him from working too hard and me because  my physical therapy yesterday tore me up. Oh, it is ok. It was the plan. That is the way they work sometimes. Overwork you one day, let you rest the next day and then you go back to those same exercises.  If  I do as well at the end of this week as I did last, I'll be happy.

Any way, as sore and tired as we were, our basement flooded AGAIN.  Thankfully, prayers of our friends were answered. Ron was able to clean up the water and he even found out  why it has been flooding. His job for tomorrow is to fix that problem.

The picture here is of a better day on Wednesday, when my ORU (Opinions R Us) friends celebrated my birthday. We were 18 days late, but it was just as much fun. We had to delay it until we could get everyone back to Ohio, etc. We went to the Bistro in Green for dinner, then went next door to Handles for ice cream. I don't think any of us, oh maybe one, were counting calories.

Monday, June 24, 2019

O H I O



They were all  born in Colorado, but they are Buckeyes through and through, especially on game nights.  That's what happens when your parents are true blue transplants from our wonderful Ohio.

Caleb, Julia and Oliver jump at every chance to show their allegiance to 'their' state.  O H I O!

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Tribute to the Man


Ron is definitely a hard worker. I guess that is because he was deprived of manual labor most of his life, having gone into computers right out of high school.

I think he overdoes it now, but he does accomplish some pretty cool things, like his latest task of putting up more cameras for our security system. I guess he gets to mix his two worlds of computer expert and hard labor.

Young men years ago, before  this millennial generation, would be used to working, but by 77, they had generally slowed down a bit. But Ron continues to push his muscles.

Here is a pictorial salute to his skill and hard work.

Friday, June 21, 2019

Shredded Notes



It is nice to own a shredder. Mason particularly appreciates theirs now. He was elated to get the chance to shred the notes from a history class that he despised. In his own words, it was a rotten class! 

I don't know if it was because he really doesn't care about history like he does math, he just doesn't like to study history, or because it was one of the slanted classes now that tries to make it look like our country is a bad place to be. 

The only thing that surprises me is that it took him quite a while after school was out to do it...well I guess not. When summer vacation finally gets here, there are lots more interesting things to do.

Thursday, June 20, 2019

Oliver's Mustache


Oliver will be surprised when he sees this picture. He won't remember having a mustache. It is my gift to him. I'm anxious to hear what he says.


Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Celebrate Early


Buca di Beppo knows how to celebrate a birthday. Although both of us were celebrating our birthdays the same  night (early because that is when  our son was in a nearby city on business) this is the regular size of the fantastic brownie  sundae they offered free to me. They had  a record of my birthday and emailed me a coupon.

The three of us were only able to eat about 1/3 of this and it was  REALLY good. I would consider doing this again next year and taking more people with me.

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Reasons To Be Happy


I have so very much on my computer because over the years I've been a shopaholic at scrapping sites. Scrapgirls was my first love and even though I have broadened my horizons, I still like Scrapgirls very much. Today they offered a freebie, that after changing some color, would go well with a new picture I had of our daughter, Chelle.  I also used a curled frame from a Scrapgirls kit Fancy Curls by Syndee Nuckles that  I had bought back in 2011. So here it is. Chelle with Reasons to be Happy. 

I just finished listening to our president announce he is up for election in 2020. What a powerful speech. I love our God.  I love our country.  I love our  President.  God Bless America. 

Trump has made America Great Again and he's not finished yet.

Monday, June 17, 2019

Lucky Guy


Ron is a lucky guy because he likes to do it himself.  

He really has it good tonight because our basement flooded in the torrential rains we've been having...and there are more predicted tonight.


Saturday, June 15, 2019

Well Done Kudos



Ron loves to work outdoors and he also loves to cut  trees for some reason. So he got a good opportunity to do that when the poplar tree in the front corner of the courtyard started leaning across the courtyard. We really don't know what made that happen, but there has been a LOT of rain this year. It would seem there would be softening of the soil around the tree, but I suspect there  was more to it. I'm thinking raccoons used it to get in the area. I can't prove it, but I do know that Maggie was afraid to go out there for a while before it was cut. She would just stand outside the door and sniff the air. 

In any case, the tree is now gone.  I do not miss it and Ron had his 'fun'.  


Friday, June 14, 2019



I've been unable to  blog for a few days, but I'm feeling better tonight and  I have a new page of costuming photos. This is the same photo shoot that I  blogged about on the eleventh. The girls did a good job with these costumes and they finished the look with perfect expressions.

These characters, Star Lord and Gamora were well represented.

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Class Project



It's not all about getting A's. They had lots of fun doing their class project. They decided to portray two characters in Guardians of the Galaxy. Ashley dressed as Star Lord and Jay as Gamora. There
were 167 photos taken by Ashley's mother Chelle; so I had plenty  for a layout. I had enough for a whole book, but It would take me way too long;  so I narrowed it down to a mere four pages.This is the first.

Monday, June 10, 2019

Happy Birthday to Us.


I think neither of us was anxious to age another year. We know that wisdom comes with age, but...so do wrinkles aches and pain at this stage of life.   It was nice to have our friends celebrate with us, something we did not plan ahead of time. It worked out great and cheered me up. We had a fun time, even played a game from our past that none of us could remember the rules for. We had to google it for directions, but we laughed the whole time. It was just what we needed.

Oh yes, I am old enough to know not to end a sentence in a preposition, but I'm also  old  enough to not worry one bit about that.

Saturday, June 8, 2019

Hammock Heaven



John was being Mommy and Daddy for a few days while Mommy was away with the ladies in her family. He and the kids found some time to enjoy the back yard. Daddy and Julia chose the hammock while the boys were on the trampoline. The best part as far as I'm concerned was when they chose to FaceTime me...Gramma.

Friday, June 7, 2019

Juniors



Opryland is a nice place for a graduation. Nashville School of the Arts had their graduation ceremony there this year.  Aussie as Grand Marshall of the junior class and Ashley as Marshall had  parts to play in the graduation.  So next year when they are the graduates, they certainly should know what  to expect.

Thursday, June 6, 2019

They Were Here



They were here and now they are gone. That seems to be the way my life is going right now.
It is like the Bible verse "You do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away" (James 4:14).

A  figurative statement becomes reality in old age. 

At least I had the chance to take these pictures before they vanished.  Now I can 
publish these in my next book and be able to enjoy them for as long as I have. 

When my time here is over, there will be much more beautiful sights to see. We have God's word on that. Not only will everything be beautiful, but there will be no tears, no sorrows, no political fighting. God will reign supreme over His creation. 

Satan will be with us no more!