Monday, June 24, 2019

O H I O



They were all  born in Colorado, but they are Buckeyes through and through, especially on game nights.  That's what happens when your parents are true blue transplants from our wonderful Ohio.

Caleb, Julia and Oliver jump at every chance to show their allegiance to 'their' state.  O H I O!

Saturday, June 22, 2019

Tribute to the Man


Ron is definitely a hard worker. I guess that is because he was deprived of manual labor most of his life, having gone into computers right out of high school.

I think he overdoes it now, but he does accomplish some pretty cool things, like his latest task of putting up more cameras for our security system. I guess he gets to mix his two worlds of computer expert and hard labor.

Young men years ago, before  this millennial generation, would be used to working, but by 77, they had generally slowed down a bit. But Ron continues to push his muscles.

Here is a pictorial salute to his skill and hard work.

Friday, June 21, 2019

Shredded Notes



It is nice to own a shredder. Mason particularly appreciates theirs now. He was elated to get the chance to shred the notes from a history class that he despised. In his own words, it was a rotten class! 

I don't know if it was because he really doesn't care about history like he does math, he just doesn't like to study history, or because it was one of the slanted classes now that tries to make it look like our country is a bad place to be. 

The only thing that surprises me is that it took him quite a while after school was out to do it...well I guess not. When summer vacation finally gets here, there are lots more interesting things to do.

Thursday, June 20, 2019

Oliver's Mustache


Oliver will be surprised when he sees this picture. He won't remember having a mustache. It is my gift to him. I'm anxious to hear what he says.


Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Celebrate Early


Buca di Beppo knows how to celebrate a birthday. Although both of us were celebrating our birthdays the same  night (early because that is when  our son was in a nearby city on business) this is the regular size of the fantastic brownie  sundae they offered free to me. They had  a record of my birthday and emailed me a coupon.

The three of us were only able to eat about 1/3 of this and it was  REALLY good. I would consider doing this again next year and taking more people with me.

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

Reasons To Be Happy


I have so very much on my computer because over the years I've been a shopaholic at scrapping sites. Scrapgirls was my first love and even though I have broadened my horizons, I still like Scrapgirls very much. Today they offered a freebie, that after changing some color, would go well with a new picture I had of our daughter, Chelle.  I also used a curled frame from a Scrapgirls kit Fancy Curls by Syndee Nuckles that  I had bought back in 2011. So here it is. Chelle with Reasons to be Happy. 

I just finished listening to our president announce he is up for election in 2020. What a powerful speech. I love our God.  I love our country.  I love our  President.  God Bless America. 

Trump has made America Great Again and he's not finished yet.

Monday, June 17, 2019

Lucky Guy


Ron is a lucky guy because he likes to do it himself.  

He really has it good tonight because our basement flooded in the torrential rains we've been having...and there are more predicted tonight.


Saturday, June 15, 2019

Well Done Kudos



Ron loves to work outdoors and he also loves to cut  trees for some reason. So he got a good opportunity to do that when the poplar tree in the front corner of the courtyard started leaning across the courtyard. We really don't know what made that happen, but there has been a LOT of rain this year. It would seem there would be softening of the soil around the tree, but I suspect there  was more to it. I'm thinking raccoons used it to get in the area. I can't prove it, but I do know that Maggie was afraid to go out there for a while before it was cut. She would just stand outside the door and sniff the air. 

In any case, the tree is now gone.  I do not miss it and Ron had his 'fun'.  


Friday, June 14, 2019



I've been unable to  blog for a few days, but I'm feeling better tonight and  I have a new page of costuming photos. This is the same photo shoot that I  blogged about on the eleventh. The girls did a good job with these costumes and they finished the look with perfect expressions.

These characters, Star Lord and Gamora were well represented.

Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Class Project



It's not all about getting A's. They had lots of fun doing their class project. They decided to portray two characters in Guardians of the Galaxy. Ashley dressed as Star Lord and Jay as Gamora. There
were 167 photos taken by Ashley's mother Chelle; so I had plenty  for a layout. I had enough for a whole book, but It would take me way too long;  so I narrowed it down to a mere four pages.This is the first.

Monday, June 10, 2019

Happy Birthday to Us.


I think neither of us was anxious to age another year. We know that wisdom comes with age, but...so do wrinkles aches and pain at this stage of life.   It was nice to have our friends celebrate with us, something we did not plan ahead of time. It worked out great and cheered me up. We had a fun time, even played a game from our past that none of us could remember the rules for. We had to google it for directions, but we laughed the whole time. It was just what we needed.

Oh yes, I am old enough to know not to end a sentence in a preposition, but I'm also  old  enough to not worry one bit about that.

Saturday, June 8, 2019

Hammock Heaven



John was being Mommy and Daddy for a few days while Mommy was away with the ladies in her family. He and the kids found some time to enjoy the back yard. Daddy and Julia chose the hammock while the boys were on the trampoline. The best part as far as I'm concerned was when they chose to FaceTime me...Gramma.

Friday, June 7, 2019

Juniors



Opryland is a nice place for a graduation. Nashville School of the Arts had their graduation ceremony there this year.  Aussie as Grand Marshall of the junior class and Ashley as Marshall had  parts to play in the graduation.  So next year when they are the graduates, they certainly should know what  to expect.

Thursday, June 6, 2019

They Were Here



They were here and now they are gone. That seems to be the way my life is going right now.
It is like the Bible verse "You do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away" (James 4:14).

A  figurative statement becomes reality in old age. 

At least I had the chance to take these pictures before they vanished.  Now I can 
publish these in my next book and be able to enjoy them for as long as I have. 

When my time here is over, there will be much more beautiful sights to see. We have God's word on that. Not only will everything be beautiful, but there will be no tears, no sorrows, no political fighting. God will reign supreme over His creation. 

Satan will be with us no more!

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Tomboy




You may have read before that I call my Maggie our little Tomboy  Princess. That describes her well.
She chooses to be a Tomboy,  but the is so beautiful when she has been groomed well that she looks like a princess.

She like nothing better than to 'help' Ron. She gets to ride in the 'truck'. It is amazing how high that little dog can jump up into that vehicle.

The Cool project is a neighborhood improvement project that the local churches  do in Cuyahoga Falls, OH.  I believe they said this is the last year for it.  Maggie didn't understand why she couldn't help.

Tuesday, June 4, 2019

3 Kids



Laughing Buck Farm has been a great place for our grandchildren to play and learn. It is the net best thing to living on a farm. They learn all the chores that have to be done in raising crops and animals. Here are Oliver and Julia making memories with a little goat.

We had a super time  this evening when John flew into Cleveland for work tomorrow. We met him at the airport and ate at Buca di Beppo in Strongsville. I had received an email invitation to get a huge brownie sundae for my birthday, so it was the perfect place for dinner, just a few minutes from the airport. Of course I ate too much, but it was a great way to celebrate my birthday a little early. The real date in the 8th, so  I suppose we will celebrate at least one more time. It would be terrible if I actually got another year older every time we celebrated. I feel like I've aged several years for every 365 days I've  lived since 2015.

Monday, June 3, 2019

Dandelion Seeds


I like dandelions, unless they are in my own yard, then  I dig them out, making sure I  get the whole root.  Well at least that is the way it has been until today. Evidently, last year  I was too busy to dig weeds and  today I'm too old. I did dig several, but I have to admit, I  didn't get the whole root on most of them. I see older ladies working in their yards, but I just don't have what it takes anymore. After  working just a couple of hours digging out weeds and planting some flowers, I managed to get into the house and lie down a few minutes before feeding Maggie and then us. Everything hurts...everything.

I'm so glad I had a layout to post.  I do because last night I  spent my time playing words with friends and forgot  to post.

Back to the dandelions, Julia and Oliver  are like every other child I've ever known. They enjoy blowing the seeds all around.  This is picture was taken at Dunn Elementary.  I suppose they were there, either to take or pick up big brother, Caleb.

Friday, May 31, 2019

ORU and Cheesecake


This has been a long work day for me. Because of that, my bed time will be sooner than usual.  I'm already nodding at the computer, so we'll make this short and to the point.

These  girls have been close for many years. We met at church and are sisters in Christ. We love being together and take every chance we can to do that.  Even when we don't have time to get out and talk, talk, talk,  we keep in touch.  We are ORU, Opinions R Us.

We were missing two of our locals, one who had other plans and one who has been in Florida an extra long time.  We have three more who are just as dear, even though they all moved to Texas.  

Cheesecake Factory is one of our favorites, at least we probably get there at least once a year. We are never disappointed.

Thursday, May 30, 2019

Matching Shirts


It looks like we have found who is the fashion setter for Old White Guys in Northeast Ohio. It is Ron. In the first picture he is posing with Al. They have matching shirts. The second picture he is with Steve with matching shirts. One thing for sure, Ron does not have his clothing designed for him. Both of these shirts were bought locally. It was also interesting that both sets of shirts were checked.  Perhaps he'll choose some plaids or even plain colors some time. Maybe he should even let them dictate the styles for a change.

This is the Wednesday morning breakfast crowd. No, he doesn't have a group for every morning, but he does manage to eat breakfast out at often as he can find a buddy or more to join him.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

In the Spirit of Remembrance, Red. White and Blue


I didn't  do much of value over the Memorial Day weekend. My thoughts were  with our fallen veterans and their families. Thankfully we didn't lose anyone from our family, but we have lost friends. We are very thankful that they gave their all to keep us free. We pray that those who have grown up in our country without knowledge of those valiant veterans will somehow learn the value of a free country.  I know it is difficult, since patriotism is now pretty much schooled out of them. I pray that somehow they learn the problems with socialism without having to live under socialist rule.

So what did I do this past weekend? I worked to get another book published with Shutterfly. I was able to save $86 by completing it before the deadline...the sale ended Monday night.

I also went to church on Sunday morning. Linda and I were dressed in similar red, white and blue. So naturally, we took a picture. Proud to be American!

Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Next Best Thing



Oliver and Julia are at Legacy Field. There will be no soccer practice today because of the rain. So the next best thing, especially if you live in Colorado where it doesn't rain that much...is to wade in the puddles. And that is what they did.

Another thing  I like about this picture is their rain gear, so bright and pretty. They don't need to wear it much, so I'm glad they are getting some good out of those coats, boots and umbrella. How Cute!

Sunday, May 26, 2019

Prom Photo Shoot







If you have a photographer  mom, you really get good prom pictures. That is the case here, Chelle is great with a camera and Ashley is used to posing. 

Since Ashley is into anime big time, she and her mom do a lot of photo shoots. So this Prom Photo Shoot was to be expected. 

It wouldn't pay to be camera shy in that family. Of course that thrills me. I get lots of pictures  to make layouts. So we are all happy.


Saturday, May 25, 2019

Junior Prom



Can't believe the triplets will be seniors next fall. I heard this all my life and now it is so very true. It  seems like just a very few years ago, they were born. They will be 17 in July.

Time actually does fly.  The Bible tells us as much.  John 4:14 says, "You are [really] but a wisp of vapor (a puff of smoke, a mist) that is visible for a little while...

These pictures were taken when the boys were ready to leave their house for their Junior  Prom.  


Thursday, May 23, 2019

More Beach Fun


Brittanie's and Ava's trip to Florida went very well. They did enjoy that sun and sand. Here they are with Tim (Grandpa) and Uncle Brandon on the beautiful white sand that is a real pleasure to see.

I can hardly wait to talk to Ava about that vacation. Hopefully it won't be long.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

A Pensive Thought



I'm very thankful  I have pictures; VERY THANKFUL for parents who are good about saving the memories.

I absolutely love this picture of Julia. Since I wasn't there at her home on Easter Sunday, I have no idea about what she is thinking. I don't know if this was a brief expression or if she was really deep in thought for a while. I would like to know; but like most other things, I don't really need to know.

Isn't she beautiful in her sweet Easter bunny top? She was in her backyard for an Easter egg hunt with her brothers. 

The bunny had given all three of them geodes in their baskets and that was playing out well with them trying to open those rocks.  When they were broken, the crystals were a great prize.

Now, if I were to contemplate how and why these rocks were formed like they are, I might have a similar look on my face.

Monday, May 20, 2019

Trial and Error


The 'boys' started out working on their geodes with what I would call a rubber mallet and a screw  driver. They were not having much luck. Then Dad came on the scene with a real hammer and another tool that looked like it was built just for that job. Look at the results. It was like magic.


Thursday, May 16, 2019

Night Scene at the Beach


In April Brittanie took Ava on her first vacation to Florida to see her grandfather and uncle Brandon.

Ava had a lot of fun during the day on the beach, but when darkness fell, it was time for some of the adults  to do the beach scene. 

These pictures are of Brittanie and her dad Tim, her brother Brandon and Brandon's friend Hannah.
Smiles were all around.



Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Cosplay Howe's Moving Castle



In April there was another MTAC  (Middle Tennessee Anime Convention)  in Nashville, TN. It is an annual event that Ashley attends. This year she dressed as Sophie from the movie Howe's Moving Castle. 

She and her mom always come up with really good costumes for the cosplay.

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Easter Bunny Downtown



It was pretty cool that the Easter Bunny was downtown in Ft Collins on the Saturday before Easter.
I'm certainly glad to have this photo to keep that memory.

Monday, May 13, 2019

A Sunny Day at the Beach


It's a dreary day here at the lakes. I need to think warmer, so here is a layout I've almost completed of  our great granddaughter, Ava on her first vacation. She is in Florida to see her grandfather Tim and yes, she is at the beach in the warm sand with her mom and a little friend of the family. 

Looks like she is enjoying herself. I'm not sure she will want to come back. But since that was on April 17,  she is back.  It's good that she is 4 and used to change. 

The older we get, the harder it is to adapt to change...especially change for the worse. Whoops, a 
comment like that could take me to politics. Let's not go there. This scrapbooking is about my only escape from the daily news. News of those fighting to divide us instead of all working for the good of our country.

Thursday, May 9, 2019

There's a Change in the Weather


This time last month the temperature was very warm. On the 9th Oliver was running around in the backyard with his shorts only. It was 76...a very nice day for April. However, the next morning, they woke up to a fair cover of snow.  They were able to go from summer to winter in only 2 spring days.

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

Home Grown Soccer Player


For Caleb's size, he is a mighty big eater. He can eat twice as much as  his 6'2 dad.  
The bigger surprise is, he is a power house on the soccer field. Just last week, two of his team's players were not there when their soccer game  was scheduled  to begin. The game began on time with only 5 on his team. Yet they won  the game, due to Caleb's great playing. He is the  one  who made all the points.  

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Celebrating Life Together


Chelle's and Greg's anniversary was near the end of March. It doesn't seem that long ago but it was. They waited and waited for a baby and then in 2002 Chelle gave birth to triplets. Soon to be 17, they have been a real joy to all of us. Thank you Lord, for this loving family.



Monday, May 6, 2019

Any Time is Pizza Time



Yes,  I'm still behind. Actually that has become the norm around here, always trying to catch up  with everything. I'm still back  in March with the snow in the Colorado mountains.

I think you are probably through with snow.  I know  I am happy to see flowers everywhere, so much so, that I'm even enjoying the dandelions, that is the ones that are not in my own yard. Because of that, although I'm posting a picture from March, it does not show snow!  After a long day of skiing, the kids sat down to eat a pizza.  I can't really think of anything better to do after a busy cold day on the slopes. Like skiing, they  did well at eating that pizza.

Sunday, May 5, 2019

Rocketown Talent Show



Rocketown was Founded in 1994 by Contemporary Christian Music Artist Michael W. Smith, It is a faith based youth outreach facility in the heart of Downtown Nashville, Tennessee.

In March a Talent Show was scheduled at Rocketown. On a whim, Aussie tried out. He was chosen to solve his 6x6 Rubik’s Cube. On the 29th he 'performed' and came in 3rd. The girl who captured first place sang beautifully and is a fellow student of Aussie's at Nashville School of the Arts.

During the performance, Aussie challenged one of the judges to do the 3x3 while he did the 6x6.
The fellow worked with it a short time, then gave up and watched Aussie’s fingers fly to a solve.
                                                             

Friday, May 3, 2019

Just Imagine


We have a marvelous country that allows people to choose their own paths without coercion. But,
these are perilous times. There are many who are willing to throw away our freedom for socialism, which always has destroyed any place in which it has taken control.  

The only hope we have against these people is the hope that God will save us from those who are bent on ruling  our nation with an iron  fist.

We do have as almighty God who could do that, one who told us that if we turn from our wicked ways, He will save out land.

I am praying that is just what happens, lest ours could  be the next nation to fall into slavery.





Thursday, May 2, 2019

A Special Visit


I know it looks as if  I just fell off the face of the earth, but I did not. I'm still around, just have been very busy  trying  to figure out what  I just did and what I'm supposed to do next.   I don't know if my brain can't keep up with me or if it is running away and leaving me.

In spite of that, we have been pretty busy lately. Some of it has been a very pleasant kind of busy.

Our daughter in law was kind enough to let our youngest son, John, come for a few days to visit. We would have liked to see the whole family. Perhaps we can do that soon.

While John was here, we took a day to visit one of his sisters in Marietta, Ohio. It was a pleasant day (the first non rainy one in a while) and we  enjoyed visiting with April, her husband and another of his sisters, Kim and her husband, Woody. They drove over from their temporary home in Glen Ferris, WV.   

We enjoyed seeing April and Tim's new house on the Ohio River as well. It is unique and beautiful.

As usual these days, even though I was carrying my iPhone, I still didn't get many pictures and there were  lots things  of which I wish  I had photos now.  Guess I'll just have to go back to get  some. 

I especially wish I had gotten a photograph of the three siblings since they rarely are able to get together. Kim and April  do visit often, but John has a young family and lives in Colorado.




Friday, April 26, 2019

Snow Selfies


It is much warmer in Breckenridge now than a month ago, but I think skiing has not ended. Therefore I don't feel way out of line posting this layout of Julia and her  mommy lying in the snow for selfies while they were there at that time. 

I love Julia's jacket. It really adds a splash of color to the photos in the snow. And  I haven't seen prettier smiles!



Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Easter Geode


What a cool thing to find in your Easter basket. Oliver and his siblings found geodes on Easter.
It was quite fun to break open the geodes and find the beautifully formed insides...all unique.
It was also an educational moment of fun. Oliver was  pleased.


Monday, April 22, 2019

What a Difference a Month Makes





With sun overhead and snow underfoot,  you can suspect you are in Colorado. And that is where these pictures were taken just last month.

Saturday, April 20, 2019

Is this Princess Rapunzel?



I do believe this is Princess Rapunzel. Our great granddaughter is a Disney Princess. Who would have ever guessed?

Hoping that all our children, grandchildren and great grandchildren have a wonderful Easter and that they know why we are celebrating the day...Jesus came out of his grave to live forever in heaven, where he waits for us to come to him.  All we have to do is love Him and our fellow man, for if we do, we will want to follow His example and love others as he did.

Happy Easter to all.

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Time for a Break


Our granddaughter, Lauren is a hard worker, a very hard worker; so it is great to see her take a break.
She  finally took  off a little time to visit her very good friend Britt. She even got to play  with Britt's very cute little son Camden.

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

More Breckenridge



You've seen that  Julia skied at Keystone, near Breckenridge. Well Breckenridge is a great place to be for more reasons than just skiing.  There is a really nice children's  activity center there, called Mountain Top Children's Museum. While Caleb skied, Oliver and Julia had a good time experiencing the compilation of learning activities.



I'm not sure exactly what Oliver was  doing here, but by the pictures  I would think he takes after his great grandfather, my dad. He looks like a natural chemist. 

Oliver always impresses me by the way he studies everything carefully. I can just see the wheels turning in his head.