Sunday, December 10, 2017

ORU Celebrate the Season


The Christmas season has gotten off to a good start. ORU had dinner together Friday night at Brio,  then drove to Paulette's for a fantastic dessert of cheesecake with toppings and popcorn coated in white chocolate. I can't think how it could have been better. All the ORU members North were in attendance.  After everyone was treated to home baked pumpkin bread by Jane and cute little flower shaped coin purses from Phyllis, we talked and talked and talked and talked some more. We have   been friends for many years and some of us are showing our age, well at least  I am.  But I was not the first to yawn. That first yawn was contagious, however.  We haven't stayed up all night talking for several years now...at least I haven't.

It was a great night. Whoppee! Merry Christmas to you all. 

Hoping all of you have good friends in your life. If you don't, get busy and make some. It isn't too hard, if you can find people with whom you would like to be friends. 

To make a friend, you should be a friend. It works. Give it a try. 

If that confuses you. I'm sorry. If you want to ask questions, go ahead. I will ask the  rest of the girls for the answers... because in this group, someone always knows the answer. All joined together, we become an expert in anything. At least we like to think we are.

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Water Colors





Beth is a very good mother. This day, the younger two who are not yet in school are painting with water colors. They have the supplies they need: paints, brushes, art paper, and a good place to work.

I like the pictures taken from overhead. They lend themselves to an artistic layout.

I got off track today and ended up cleaning a closet, or at least a portion of it, instead of decorating more for Christmas. Hoping that tomorrow, I can get more done along those lines.

Please continue to pray for the fire fighters in California.

Friday, December 8, 2017

Advent Calendar

I really wanted to do an Advent Calendar this year, but I am too slow, and have much too much going on to actually get things done on time.  I do have the one for December 1 to post tonight.



Notice the Thanksgiving wreath on the mantel. Perhaps tomorrow, I will do more decorating, but in
the meantime, I'm enjoying the blend of the two holidays.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Havanese Tom Boy


This little Havanese has us trained well. While we have taught her a whole new vocabulary, she has taught us to watch her. We know if she gets our attention and then runs to the door, she needs to go outside... right away. No messing around! If she just wants to go out, she will say two syllables that sound something like wan now.  On occasion, she knows she is not allowed outside, so she does the same thing, but runs to the courtyard instead. Yes, that is outside as well, but it is a confined area where she can go even if we don't have time to watch her. She prefers to be free, but if she has to go badly enough, she will accept that option.

As you probably have heard before, even though I call her my princess movie star dog, she is her Dad's Tom boy.

Above is a picture of her wearing her winter coat. She has been growing it since about August, so she shouldn't get cold this winter, no matter how much snow she helps her dad plow.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

The Abominable Snowman at Kohl's



Unlike me, her mother, Chelle has been big fan of Black Friday for many years. She is very good at it as well. This year, she took Ashley along...whether it was for training or just for fun, I don't know.
We have this picture to remember the occasion. Ashley found the Abominable Snowman at Kohls, inside no less and he hadn't yet melted. However, his pose looks as if he were just about the dissolve into  liquid at any minute.  I don't even know how much it would cost to rescue him from the heat.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

OtterBox Store



When Annette and Chris were visiting John and family at Thanksgiving, they experienced the new OtterBox store. I'm not sure what this jeep has to do with OtterBox unless it was used to sell their fantastic cooler.

We'll be sure to check out that new store next time we are in Ft Collins.

I'd like to take this chance to thank God for delivering our friend Laura out of a war torn Honduras  today. Thank you, Lord. Now we pray for her friends, church sisters and brothers she had to leave behind.  Please Lord, keep them fed and safe.

Monday, December 4, 2017

Story Time with Santa


This is not just any Santa. This Santa reads stories to the little ones as they sit around him in this special place, called Clothes, Pony and Dandelion. Where did it get its name? Did Santa name it? I really don't know, but I am impressed. Children really enjoy going there, especially if they have a little money in their pockets, so to speak.

Julia, Caleb and Oliver sit riveted to Santa's story exactly one month before Christmas Day, when they will find presents he has left under their tree.

Time is going so fast for me. There is so much to do. While the kids are adding to their advent calendars in anticipation, this grandmother is caught up in days and weeks that are flying by like leaves in a windstorm.  It will be over much too soon for me.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Super Moon



It is a beautiful night here at the lakes. It is 41 degrees, but no wind.  I went out in a sweater to get this picture of the super moon. Because  I was a little cool, I didn't take time to set my phone for a good photo. Instead, I just grabbed a shot. It flashed, which really didn't help at all. The picture is grainy and not at all good quality, but for some reason I like it...enough to make a layout. So here it is online and who knows how really long it will stay there in 'the cloud' for everyone to see what the old fashioned phones of 2017 did. At least in years to come, I hope they know this is the moon. Oh, I forget, I've told them it is the moon. And if they can decipher English by then, they will know.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Tailgate 2017


Our granddaughter, Lauren leads a very busy life. I would say she is part of the female chain of hard workers in our family, but she gets it from both sides. Her mother and father are very hard workers, not ones who would just sit in front of a tv, for example.  I say that, even though her dad loves to hunt. It isn't easy for him to make time for that, but he works hard at that as well.

We are very proud of her and really wouldn't want it any other way.

This layout shows her and her friends from Cross Fit tailgating in early this month.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Mary Poppins, the play




I  get  to  post these on my blog, even though  I've spent lots of time doing the simplest things tonight. Because of that  I'm tired earlier and ready for bed. Getting up early for a Ladies' function, so I'm giving up on spending more time.

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

The Colors of Fall



It is nearing the end of November, the leaves are falling so heavy now that Ron has been working hours and hours to clear them from the lawn, driveway, etc so that he can haul them away to the leaf dump by the trailer full.  The color is nearly gone, but the sun shined brightly today. It was a warm, wonderful day.

I've started my Christmas decorating. The tree is finished and I plan to do more around the house tomorrow.

But I'm just not ready to be done with fall. I just had to post this layout tonight as a final farewell to all the bright color. Getting ready to settle down  to Ohio  grays and white, which is lovely as well, just not colorful.


Sunday, November 26, 2017

Back Up Plan


When our sweet daughter, April, called us near midnight the night before Thanksgiving to tell us she was sick and that we shouldn't take the chance of getting it, we decided to not travel those 5 hours to see her. She called us the next morning  to say she was feeling better. Ron told her we wouldn't go, knowing it would throw her 'dinner' late. We decided to choose a 20 minute drive to Cracker Barrel where we had eaten before on Thanksgiving. As a matter of fact, April and her husband, Tim, had eaten there with us a couple of times on Thanksgiving.  I felt badly because I was to take a pecan pie and dinner rolls. However, it was a good thing we didn't, because  their son, Jarod was there with his family and one of the children did get sick. 

When she called us the night before, she  saved us from those germs. Thank you, April, but we are sorry we didn't get to see you all.

It gave Ron and me the chance to practice what we believe...to be content no matter the circumstances. (Philippians 4:11)

It was funny that we took these pictures after we ate so that I could do this page for my next book. While Ron was posing here for his photo, a couple walked out and said, something like, "Oh, this is your 115th Cracker Barrel." It was pretty funny.





Saturday, November 25, 2017

Little Pilgrim





Ava started preschool this year. Her 'class' learned about the Pilgrims and Thanksgiving.
Here she is dressed as a pilgrim  in her sweet dress and bonnet. The top picture shows her
and her mom, Brittanie, with some of her class art work. Below that, Ava eats an apple and
muffin, like the Pilgrims may have eaten.

Nothing sweeter than a little child. Our Lord, Jesus said
in Matthew 19:14
“Let the little children come to Me, and do not
 forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of heaven.”
The innocence of children is to be admired, not tampered
with. 
Please pray for the protection of the little ones in this dark
world. We not only have to protect them from evil people
who would hurt them physically, but often schools which
teach them things contrary to the word of God. 

We need to know what our children are learning in school
and it is very hard to know what the young ones hear in
there. We must know school policy and the teachers.

Friday, November 24, 2017

Mr Turkey Recommends...


It has been a long time since I've seen a turkey so high on Thanksgiving. He seems to be celebrating this day. Happy to have been pardoned, bypassed, whatever...just happy to be alive.

The whole turkey community may be trying to push this idea, now that the Greene's have introduced it in Nashville...or more accurately, Antioch.

They decided to make something everyone in the family liked this year...a Japanese dish, Chicken with Broccoli and Pepper Tempura! You read that right.  It was a hit. Perhaps we should all give up our turkey and dressing next year.  Well, maybe you should. I think I'll stick to the traditional thing. 
I'm not sure I got enough of it on Thanksgiving day and may resort to roasting a turkey breast some day next week. One of my favorite sandwiches is a croissant with turkey and a cranberry, cream cheese dressing. 

Sorry about that Mr. Turkey.


Hope you all made a long list of what has made you thankful this year. Don't let it go, don't forget to be thankful each day. A positive life is a blessing to yourself and well as to others.



Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Mango Treat


                    Eating dried mango out of the bag is quite a treat for Julia. It is so healthy.
She is blessed to have a health conscious mother. 

This picture was taken October 30. Since then, she had the pleasure to go trick or treating downtown and now at the end of the week will get another special treat...Thanksgiving dinner. I can almost taste some of my favorites now. Wish we could be together so that we could see the little ones enjoy tasting new 'to them' things.

Monday, November 20, 2017

I Am Thankful for These Boys



Fort Collins is a special kind of town. It is picturesque. Of course it may be mainly that these cute grandchildren are really the best thing about all the photos.  I really appreciate these big smiles.

It has been too long since I've seen Oliver and Caleb in person and given them a big hug. But they are not lonely. This picture was taken by their maternal grandmother, who was in town with them that day.  

I am thankful for the photograph.

Many of us are mentally making a list of things for which we are thankful this holiday season.   Naturally, my grandchildren are at the very top of my list, followed by their parents.

I know it is a very busy season, but you will profit by taking a little break. Actually write down things for which you are thankful. Before long, you may manage to get into a thankful mind set and then many, many things will come to you. Try putting your burdens away for a while. Try, try, try. I didn't say it was easy, but if you can manage it, you will be blessed and you can be a blessing to others.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

A Special Kind of Scary



Ava was a princess for Halloween. Now that is the kind of scary this old fashioned grandmother likes.
I not only enjoyed the sweet smile on her face,  I liked the pictures, to be published later of her at trunk or treat with her warm coat over her princess gown.

Other that the pictures, I have had a good time designing this layout. I used a technique I hadn't used for a while  with an action on my PSE 15. It is an action included in Scrap Girls Brandy Murray's Magical Actions. Not only am I pleased with the result, it was really fun to do.

That was good. I needed some happy moments today. It has rained ALL day, yes ALL day.
Oh, and that was not the only good thing that happened today.  We were able to have dinner with some good friends tonight...always fun.

It was also pleasant to receive notice of upcoming Black Friday. Always love to hear some of the deals friends and relatives get that one day of the year.

Finally, in my inbox this morning was some good advice from Rick Warren on prayer.
I've heard some say it seems God does not hear their prayers. Rick's message today sheds some light on that thought. I will copy it here, so that you might read it and perhaps learn something that will help you in your prayer life.

“Dear friends, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God and receive from him anything we ask, because we keep his commands and do what pleases him. And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us” (1 John 3:21-23 NIV).
The Bible says God has laid out five conditions to answered prayer: you have an honest relationship with God, you harbor no unforgiveness toward anyone, you’re willing to share the results with other people, you ask God in faith, and you pray in Jesus’ name.
Have you been overlooking any of these conditions?
Maybe you’ve been holding a grudge. Maybe you’ve been nursing resentment and you’ve allowed bitterness to build up in your life.
Maybe you’ve been refusing to admit some wrong in your life. You’ve known it was there, but you haven’t wanted to go to God and say, “You’re right, God; that’s wrong. I admit it.”
Maybe you’ve prayed, but you’ve never really expected God to answer. If you don’t expect God to answer, you’re just wasting your time. Or maybe you haven’t been abiding in God’s Word and growing in faith.
Maybe you haven’t been willing to share God’s blessings with other people. You’ve been hesitant to give back to God a percentage of all the things he’s blessed you with.
How about praying in Jesus’ name?
You can’t pray in Jesus’ name unless you know him as your Lord and Savior. The most important question is, “Do you have an honest relationship with God?” I’m not talking about church membership or being religious. I’m talking about a relationship, where you know God personally. You can start a relationship with him today.
Then, you can pray: “God, I have not been meeting one or more of these conditions, and now I understand why I see so few results in my prayer life. Today I want to recommit my life to forgiveness and generosity, to a willingness to share and give back to you what you’ve given to me. I want to believe in faith. Lord, thank you for the Bible — how it helps me and is so practical and relevant to my life. When I meet the conditions that you’ve laid out for me, I can see tremendous results in my life. Thank you that prayer is no big mystery but simply a conversation with you. Thank you for the privilege of prayer. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

Friday, November 17, 2017

JuJu and the Chicken



Fort Collins is a great place to learn about farms. The kids in that area do not have to grow up ignorant of what happens on farms and why we need them.  They can make friends with the animals while feeding them. Often they can brush them. At other times they ride a horse, or pig, or farm tractor. All this, while enjoying the fresh air and getting a little dirty. They also are able to plant produce and watch them grow.  The farms provide wonderful experiences for the kids and they are able to make new friends through these wholesome activities.

Here, Caleb is introducing his little sister, JuJu to a hen. He has always been good with the chickens. He gave me the first one I had ever held a few years ago. I will never forget how very soft it was. I was very pleasantly surprised. I think Julia liked it as well.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Sweet Ava


Sweet school picture of Ava with a pretty little dress and a back pack.

I'm having computer connection problems tonight, so this is it, just this, but isn't she a cutie?

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Twin's Day



Late last month the triplet's school had a Twin's Day. They decided to dress alike. They chose that all would dress as Aussie. The plan got complicated a bit, but it proved quite entertaining. The journaling on this scrapbook page explains....





Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Study Your Children



Oliver is back in the saddle again. Sassy is the name of 'his' horse.

No one is the same as anyone else, unless of course most identical twins...and they are still individuals. I say this because, God has given all of us special talents. This is all for good reason. None of us can be entirely self sufficient. We need others.

It is wonderful when parents and teachers pay attention to their children and  students in order to encourage them in whatever their talents might be.

Max Lucado sent out a very good letter today on this subject.  I am posting it here.

Study Your Children


Crankcase oil coursed my dad's veins. He repaired engines for a living. Dad loved machines. God gave my dad a mechanical moron, a son who couldn't differentiate between a differential and a brake disc.  Dad tried to teach me. I tried to learn. Honestly, I did. Machines anesthetized me. But books fascinated me.

What does a mechanic do with a son who loves books? He gives him a library card. Buys him a few volumes for Christmas. Places a lamp by his bed so he can read at night. Pays tuition so his son can study college literature in high school. My dad did that.

You know what he didn't do? Never once did he say, "Why can't you be a mechanic like your dad and granddad?" Study your children while you can. The greatest gift you can give your child is not your riches, but revealing to them their own!

Monday, November 13, 2017

Step Up to the Plate



There is no stopping this girl. She will not be intimidated. The sky is the limit.  Here she is climbing to the top alone. Nothing will stop her. This is not an easy fete. Go girl!

If we all had the determination of Julia. We wouldn't set back and watch evil  take over so much of our freedom.

I Perter 2:15-16

" For it is God's will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish people. Live as free people, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as God's slaves."




Sunday, November 12, 2017

Lauren Lifts

This is one of my favorite pictures of Lauren lifting. It shows her very pretty face. She is very strong and beautiful as well.

Still on my busy train and tomorrow is no exception. It is tougher to handle as I age.  Of course, if I were not pretty busy I would be bored to death; so  I guess this is the way it needs to be. Yet I just can't fight drowsiness to night and must get some sleep.

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Shippo of Anime Fame


Ashley is a fan of anime. She would like to make it a career. Time will tell, but in the meantime, she really enjoys going with her dad to anime conventions within driving range of their home. This summer they attended one in Indiana and in September, they went to Anime weekend in Atlanta.

It is an interesting hobby. It's followers dress the part of characters and their imaginations are very good. Some go all out and the results are quite entertaining. 

Ashley dressed as two different characters in Atlanta.  One was Shippo, as in the picture above. The other was Killua.

Yesterday we jumped into  winter weather.  I had to dig out some gloves and a heavy coat. Winter has begun, no matter what the calendar says.

I remember in 1970  on this day, it was snowing. I was on my way to the hospital to give birth to Ashley's mother, Chelle. Happy birthday, Chelle. And because Chelle was born on Veterans' Day, here is a wish for  all the veterans who have given a big part of their lives to give us freedom. God bless every one of them.





Friday, November 10, 2017

Princess Pedicure



I like all the fall colors I've been posting and could go on and on with them, but I just had to throw this on this blog.

Everyone likes a good pedicure, at least I know I do. It is a wonderfully relaxing time and the results are quite pretty. I can hardly imagine a little one being this fortunate. Ava and her mother are enjoying this special blessing together.

Well that is all for tonight. I had trouble with our internet last night and just got it fixed...at least if this is actually published it is fixed. It is the layout I tried to put here last night.

I has not been a good day because of that computer trouble piled on top of an already overloaded week, seeing no pause for at least the next four days. I'm nearly braindead and on the way to bed for a much needed rest. 

God bless you all. Don't forget our veterans. 

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Identical, What?



Two of the triplets faced off in the kitchen. This was the exchange: Mason: Wow! You are tiny!
Ashley: But...but...you have shoes on!

She is right! He does!

This  BIG difference reminds me of when they were babies in their triple stroller. People, knowing one was a girl would ask if they were identical. And no, they didn't look alike. But yet, people would ask that. I guess they were just so surprised to see three that they didn't know what to say. IDENTICAL?..No, not really. An that holds true today, in case you wonder.


Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Oh So Cute



Oliver is nearly 4, but I can't resist calling him a Cutey Pie here. He certainly puts a little extra pizazz in his poses these days. 

Oliver is not the big brother, or the baby, but he is just right where he is on the sibling 'ladder'.  So wish I could see this boy, his brother and his sister.  It's been too long.

I need to cut this short and head to bed. It's been a very long, hard working day.






Monday, November 6, 2017

Colorful Fall




We were in our car much of the day and we saw the most beautiful color combinations of leaves on plentiful trees most of the day.  They were breathtakingly beautiful. I tried to get pictures, but failed miserably to capture the grandeur. 

Last year was the most beautiful in some time and later than usual. This year the color was late as well. I had almost given up hope of a wonderfully colored autumn. But I just needed to be more patient.   

I just wish I had gotten pictures so that you too could see.  

I'm in a great fall mood, so  I'm posting another great autumn season layout.
This  photo is of our grandsons Caleb and Oliver with Caleb's friend, Brady, who gives me a complex because he is nearly as tall as me and he is only 7, or possibly 8.  The girl, McKelvie is Brady's little sister and Oliver's friend. 

All  of you who love this country need to get out to vote tomorrow. Don't let anything hold you back. Pray and vote.



Sunday, November 5, 2017

Keep Healthy, Laugh


Anyone who knows the triplets know of their wit. They really should have their own comedy show on TV. Yes, I've said that before and I'll probably be saying it again.

Aussie and his dad were visiting a cemetery in the Nashville area. It is an interesting place. But here is Aussie thinking ahead a bit. He said to his dad, "I’m just saying this now because it can happen any 
time - if my casket doesn’t have WIFI, I’ll be pretty disappointed."

It is a good thing we can laugh at times, because things have gotten so frightening in this world with all the malcontents who want their own way all the time and care nothing about the wishes of others.
They could go off and pout somewhere and leave the rest of us alone, but Satan pushes them out on the streets. Today there was another shooting of many innocent people. It is very disheartening.

Thank you God  for giving us life and help us to use  it wisely for our own good and for the good of others. 

A Bible verse comes to mind.  "Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no
authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God." Romans 3:1



Saturday, November 4, 2017

No Time for Playing Around


These pictures of the boys playing in the falling leaves in October are very timely here in Ohio, where the leaves are falling heavily now. It has been another late fall like last year so far.

Caleb was very serious about jumping in that pile of leaves. I'm not sure why, but he told his little brother, "Oliver, this is no time for playing around."

This reminds me that early this week is a time for being serious. We get to vote on local school issues and two statewide issues that are very important. I had been 'playing around', at least I had been going about my business here at home and not preparing to vote. However, today, I got serious and dug into the issues and candidates histories. Remember, it is not in what they say they will do, but what they have done in the past.

I urge you to study up and vote. These times are too serious to let the opportunity to 'speak your mind' at the ballot box. It is not just the president and congress that are important. All things work together, to bring  about the kind of world we all want for ourselves and  to avoid the pitfalls which throw a country into anarchy and then oblivion.

I'm praying for God  to protect us though the process of bringing morality and safety back to our nation.


Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Pick a Pumpkin


You can see that Julia takes pumpkin picking seriously.  I think she has done a very good job. It is just the right size and well shaped. What a nice pumpkin, Julia! And this is her very first try.

To see her dad's big smile now, it is hard to think of him as a little fellow, but he was so serious when he was young that our neighbors called him the judge. I'd say, Julia does take after her daddy. So, I suppose in the future her smile will be big, but right now, she is concentrating and learning a lot.

I am so happy that she gets the chance to learn first hand instead of sitting in front of a TV or computer all day long.

We ought to be thankful at all times, but this month is particularly one dedicated to giving thanks. 
In spite of all the things we have to deal with in these crazy times, there is sooo much for which to be thankful. Lets start now identifying day to day that for which we are thankful. By the day on which we officially celebrate, each one should have a very long list. To God be the glory!



Tuesday, October 31, 2017

The Switch




It is bleach day. Ashley usually has blue hair and Aussie, purple. Pretty entertaining. Anyway, to keep it looking right, they bleach it once in a while and recolor.  October 11 was that day.

They decided to switch places for some pictures. Aussie became Ashley with her mannerisms. Ashley became Aussie. The top picture is right, then they switched shirts and glasses. If that wasn't good enough, they mimicked each other's mannerisms with Aussie doing Ashley's 'peace' sign and Ashley grasping a Rubik's Cube.

Monday, October 30, 2017

Angie's Dinner


One night recently we finally got together with Sue. We all went to Angie's.  It is a place, we've  gone many times in the past, before Sue's husband Frank passed on to his eternal reward.  We had been missing Sue so much. It was a wonderful time and we look forward to the next time, we can do the same thing.

While we were sitting there having dinner, the manager brought a photographer to our table and they took our picture.  If I had known that was going to happen,  I would have ordered a big green salad. Instead they caught me with one of my favorites there...a marinated chicken pasta salad. We generally would have pizza when the four of us were there, but that night, we all had that pasta salad.  It was very good. Of course, everything is good at Angie's.

Remember, your relationships are the most precious thing in your lives.   It outweighs any material thing you can own.  This old saying means a lot to me..."Make new friends and keep the old. One is silver and the other is gold. "

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Misplaced Indians Fan



Our son Tim has the best of two worlds...at least he thinks so. He lives near the beach in Florida, yet 
he can still watch and root for the Indians, an Ohio team.  As you can see, he is very happy about that.

I've recently been asked what it takes to make me happy. When asked that question, I can think of lots and lots of things...nearly all of them involve my family. I love them all and love to see them. I especially love to see them smiling, like Tim is here. Yes, that makes me happy.

But a deeper question  was asked by his sister, Chelle yesterday on FaceBook:

How do you achieve happiness? What makes you happy and keeps you fulfilled?

It is a much deeper question, and one we should probably think about.


Saturday, October 28, 2017

Princess Ava Rides a Horse



Sorry I don't have much to say about these darling pictures of Ava. I need to post tonight and I've come up short. This is the layout closest to being done that I have here. I would like a good bit of journaling here on the layout, but I'm not coming up with the words tonight. But then I haven't really heard where she is and why. I love her feminine painted face.

Perhaps after I talk to her mother, Brittanie,  I will have the info I need.

I'm yawning and it is only 11:30. What is up with that?

Well, I am going to bed so that my head doesn't fall onto the keyboard.  Good night.

Friday, October 27, 2017

Halloween


This layout looked just fine in Photoshop, but it is very blurry now. I don't know if the picture is as blurry as it seems to me right now, or if my eyes are ready for some strong glasses.

This was not the highlight of my day, but it was quite fun. We had a Halloween party at Curves today. so along with exercise, we  had some nice snacks and dressed up a bit. Eileen here had a super witch costume and I found out something about her daughter that I hadn't known. She told us her daughter acts with a company in the area that puts on short  plays to entertain groups. Eileen said the costume was one that belonged to her.

It could have been a case of comparison here. She really came through with a real costume while I panicked at the last minute when I remembered I was to have a costume today. I ran to the basement where I store this and that to get an idea. Thankfully, I saw the fall leaves and decided they could not only be used for decorations around the house, but also to turn me into a tree. I had just the outfit to go with them...plain dark brown pants and a long sleeve shirt. Although our trees were late in turning and have most of their beautifully colored leaves right not, I know it is just a matter of days, until they will all fall off, so I didn't need many leaves.

Now to the highlight. We went to hear a family group of singers, called Westward Road at a local church this evening. They were quite good and we enjoyed the evening with the Vaneks, who had also been invited.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Black and White



Many years ago, when I was a  young girl, all of our photos...and there weren't many of them, were black and white. By the time I was 11, my mother was working for the best photographer in town, coloring photos with oil paints. She did a lovely job and I still have many of those photos. Some I've published in books. 

But now after decades of color film and so many colorful photos that we have to store them in a cloud somewhere, we sometimes like to go back to a black and white. This is one of those photos that lends itself to the simplified mode.  Words are not needed. I believe the story is told quite well. Lauren is a beautiful girl (young woman) and she is very devoted to lifting.

Now back to the cloud. I don't get it. I really don't! Where are these pictures really??? And what would happen to them, if there were some major glitch, like one which would do away with our computers? Something would happen to electricity...would they disappear forever, or would someone thousands of years later discover them floating around somewhere? It just boggles my mind. Would our entire history from the computer age vanish? No, I don't have a good education in computers, but my husband does. That doesn't help me one bit!





Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Thai Lunch for ORU


I won't take the time to write much about this tonight. Must be ready early tomorrow morning.
Hopefully the world won't get any stranger before I'm back to post again. 

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Melrose Apples



I've been very disappointed lately with the apples I've been buying at Sam's Club. Of course they probably come from China or something, and we grow apples locally. So, even though I hadn't been down Arlington Road for years, I decided on the  spur of the moment  to head down and look for an orchard. I was happy to find one of the orchards where I had bought apples before years ago. The lady there was so helpful. She had plenty of apples ready and after she asked me a few questions to narrow down my choices., she started cutting bites from them for me.  After having tasted quite a few, I chose Melrose, which is crisp and on the tart side. I took them home and handed them  to Ron for a picture. I wanted to remember this day when I finally got off my beaten track and bought some good fresh fruit at Kuner's Fruit Farm.

They should be in business about two more weeks. I will be going back to stock up for the winter, as much as possible anyway. I'll also get some Red Delicious for Ron, who did not appreciate the tart ones I had purchased.


Monday, October 23, 2017

Got My Book


I started making photo books from scrapbooking layouts in 2006 to document our trip to Bulgaria. Since then, I've published 56 different books and ordered multiple  copies of some of those. It has been time consuming, but rewarding as well.

This layout is the story behind the book that was delivered to my door today. In case you are reading this on a phone, making the print to small to read easily, I'll copy the text here:
I had this book ready to
publish on the 8th of Oct.
Shutterfly would not take
my coupon for a special
deal. I would have to pay
around $200 to have it
printed. Thank God, we
were talking to John that
night. Beth came to the
rescue. She has an app
that gives her daily deals
from Shutterfly. That was
two weeks ago, yesterday.
Today I received my 100
page book for which I paid
$36. Thank you, Beth and
thank you, Shutterfly!

I am thrilled with my new
book, Summer Memories.
                    10/23/17

While this was the high point of my day, it was also very, very welcome after hitting a new low when I went in for a check-up at my doctor.  I was absolutely floored  when they apologized and said they had to ask me this question. They have to ask everyone now. It had to do with sexual orientation and gave me quite a few choices. For one thing, God just made two, so where did all the rest come from?

I resent such dumbing down of our nation. I certainly am against asking children such a thing. They can be confused enough these days with what they are taught at school and see on TV and in the movies.

Just one question...Were Sodom and Gomorrah this bad?

Sunday, October 22, 2017

Golden Sands


Caleb and his family had a very good tour of Bulgaria. Here is Caleb at Golden Sands beach on the Black Sea.  This will appear in my next book. My last one should be delivered the first part of this week...hoping for tomorrow.

While I enjoy working on my books, making layouts of the family, I really  have a busy life and have to fit in my scrapbooking. 

We attended an excellent church service this morning at our home church and had a good lunch afterwards. I even spent a little time with my Physical Therapy exercises...and even took a nap. Yet, 
I have been working on layouts a very big part of the day. If I could do that every day, it wouldn't be long until another book would go to press.

I started working on a new book a few days ago. So far I have 35 layouts started. It takes me time just to round up all the pictures I want to use. Of course I want to use practically all the ones I get. It is really hard for me to narrow it down. I especially like my grandchildren and so all their pictures are worthy of a layout.

I love to follow their lives through the pictures, since I don't get to visit personally with them often enough.

I pray that God will protect each one and that they will grow close to Him, so they will be spared a lot of troubles in this life.


Saturday, October 21, 2017

North Carolina Museum of Art


When I got this picture of our granddaughter, Leah, I was thrilled to see such a wonderful background for a photo. I had never seen or even heard of this place before. As you can see, it is at the North Carolina Museum of Art in Raleigh, North Carolina. I would like to read more about these arches, but I have not located any information yet.

We are in information overdrive these days, yet I'm still looking for more on these arches.  

Since 'news' and views and even fake news is being poured on us 24 hours a day now, there are some who have retreated into their own heads and just don't listen. We must find a happy medium, so that we know what is going on and why, but are able to keep ourselves from going absolutely nuts over it all. I find humor  lets me be informed without going insane over it all.

May God bless this nation's attempt  to draw nearer to him.



Friday, October 20, 2017

Ready for a Hayride



This picture was taken, as you can see, on September the 8th.  The farm is a great place to get photos of happy kids.

Today, they were there again. I just downloaded quite a few  pictures of them, and posted a couple on Facebook. I'm looking forward to doing layouts, but as usual I'm way behind.  that is not a complaint, just a fact. I appreciate so much getting these pictures regularly, since I can't just jump into my car and drive across town to see them. It may be a good thing for some that I can't. I love them so much that I might make a pest of myself if I had the opportunity. 

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Mister Goose


We have lots of Canada Geese in Ohio. As pretty as they are, they are not really welcome here. Their excrement is too plentiful. We have a big problem with them around the lakes. There are very large flocks of them, leaving their stuff wherever they go. Some have little fences to deter them from coming out of the lake and on to people's docks and lawns.  Some set up moving objects in an attempt to scare them away...and those with more time to  spend, often scare the geese with fire crackers, etc.

Sometimes animals will scare them away with their barks, etc.

On this farm in CO, it seems that the geese feel very welcome. This one is much more friendly than any I've seen around here.

Of course, Julia is a very likable little girl.


Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Hay Ride


Now that Caleb is back in school the two younger ones miss him. This day they had the opportunity to experience 'school' themselves at Farm School. It was hay ride day. What fun. I think it was a 
winner. 

Farm school offers lots of opportunities to become acquainted with animals, plants and farm life, while getting some social schooling as well.

I mentioned last week about our little dog being very sick. She seems to be as good as new now. 
That makes me feel a lot better. It is amazing how close we can get to a pet. She is our baby...now that everyone else is so far from 'home'. 


Monday, October 16, 2017

Bulgaria



I would not be one to encourage people to take their children across the world for a 
'vacation', but our son and his wife, Beth both traveled when they were young and both continued to go to new places and learn new languages. They think nothing of traveling with their children. The youngest is not likely to remember anything about the trip, unless of course she is like my father, who could remember things from age one. The youngest I remember anything like that was at the age of two.  I recall two things that happened when I was two. I remember seeing the full moon over the local high school while my dad was carrying me. I wanted him to get it for me. I can see it all in my mind, but I think the only reason is that someone took my picture and talked about it later. I do however remember vividly the time I fell on the register in our kitchen and it was so hot that it burned scars into my hand. I remember what the grill looked like, I remember my dad grabbing me up and taking me into another room, but that is all I remember. Thank God, I don't remember the pain.

Back to our story. John and Beth took the three to Bulgaria to visit with people they knew when they served as school teachers while in the Peace Corps.  Their oldest son, my sweet grandson, is in second grade. He had to miss two weeks of school. He probably could not have done that if he were in a regular school, but his IB World school encourages travel. 

At one point we went to visit John and Beth while they were serving there. We saw a lot of the country,  but we didn't see everything there was to see. For example, we did not visit this fortress in the background. It is Tsarevets,  a medieval stronghold located on a hill with the same name in Veliko Tarnova in northern Bulgaria.

It is good to be familiar with life in other countries so that one might accurately compare life in our country. We would have many more patriotic Americans if they really knew what it was like to live elsewhere. There would certainly be much less display of disdain for this great land.




Thursday, October 12, 2017

Same Shirt


All I'll say is, they did it again. Both showed up for a picnic with identical shirts. Well, actually, they are not identical because one is quite a bit bigger than the other.

I'm finished for tonight. I'm scared because my little Maggie has been sick for two days now and she is throwing up again.  I  tried feeding her chicken and rice, but that  didn't work.  She wants me to do something for her, but neither one of us know what. It could be a long night.

Please pray for my little dog, Maggie and for me as well.