Thursday, July 19, 2018

Back in Time



Because of our son's passing,  I have been  combing through all my pictures as well as his,  both of his grandmothers on this side and other relatives who have submitted them. All of that has kept me intrenched in memories for the last 6 months. I can say that most of them have been good.

The picture above has nothing to do with Mark, but I still paused to think about that day and many other things about our four years in Massachusetts. It was sooo different from what we grew up with in Ohio.  Above, my mom was there visiting and we were seeing some of the local historical sites. Of  course, I was still new enough to the area to need a map...and no GPS. Boy that was the old days.
The picture was taken in the late 1970's.

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Very Good News


Last Saturday Lauren's long  time guy friend proposed to her in front of all their Crossfit friends at Kennett Square in Pennsylvania.  As her gramma, I'm quite pleased.  I like Pat very much.

Sunday, July 15, 2018

Learner's Permits


Family life is hard on a person these days. There is so much to do. Bless the families that can find time to do things together.  I'm asking a special blessing for this, our youngest daughter's family. 
Triplets can make it even busier...especially when they have their driver's learning permits! Yes, ALL THREE at the same time.

Saturday, July 14, 2018

Incredibles 2


The Incredibles was a hit with these three. Caleb had an old costume that he just had to wear.
I hear it was incredibly good. One of my adult friends saw it later and was highly recommending it for adults. Who knows, I might get to see it myself sometime. Maybe in the years to come when we can sit down  with a video from RedBox or something.



Thursday, July 12, 2018

Bradenton, Florida



Brittanie visited her dad,  Tim in early May. Here they are at the beach in Bradenton,  Florida. I love the white sand. She had a great time there with her dad and her brother, Brandon.   

At the end of June,  Tim came to see her in Ohio and to attend a family reunion while  commemorating  the life of his younger brother, Mark. 

It was a good time to be here because of the Fourth of July fireworks at Portage Lakes, that were displayed this year on June 30. It is strange that we have them on another day besides the fourth. But there are reasons. We do it on a weekend night and another night besides the fourth because we get a sizable discount that way.  It is a great show for those of us who really like fireworks. It is like a 30 minute grand finale. WOW!!! It also leaves us free on July 4th to travel to another area where those big boomers are shown on July 4.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Company for Maggie


Maggie is usually dealing with two 'old' people day to day. She gets a little excitement during the week, but she is always looking for more. Anyone who comes...and looks like an adult to her...she LOVES!   

Of course, Ashley and Mason were missing the cats they left at home, so they were more that glad to pay some attention to little Maggie...and she loved every minute of it.

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Riding Horseback


Julia follows the boys into the love of horseback riding, common in their family. This tickled me when I first saw it, with her sitting up tall on the big horse, while an older girl is on the pony.  The picture was taken at farm school, where these 'city' kids get to experience farm life, make friends and  learn a lot of valuable information throughout the year.

Monday, July 9, 2018

National Cemetery



We are so thankful for the National Cemetery. The respect shown to our servicemen is very encouraging.

Sunday, July 8, 2018

Military Funeral




Funeral for Mark at  the  Ohio Western Reserve National Cemetery.


Saturday, July 7, 2018

Grandchildren and A Great Granddaughter



We've been working hard to be ready for this day, a day devoted to celebrating the life of our son, Mark, who passed on to live with our God in heaven back in January of this year. We wanted to do this when all his brothers and sisters were able to be here. The military funeral service in the morning went exceedingly well thanks to all those who were available for this day. I'll tell more about that later..

This picture shows us with our three youngest grand children and our only great granddaughter, Ava. They were seeing each other for the first time this week.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Joy of Creating

Yes, there is a joy for me in creating books. However, my biggest joy is to see those I love having a good  time looking at them.

I'm praying  I will be able to continue  this record keeping as long as I live.


Saturday, May 26, 2018

The Family


I've been combing through all the pictures to make a book of Mark. Here is a picture of the whole family taken in 2001.  It's a big job...but the memories are wonderful.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

The Big Fun Splash


As an adult,  I have felt this 'city' splash in Fort Collins very inviting. No, I wouldn't don a bathing suit in public; but it surely looks like a lot of fun... especially on a hot day. 

Not only did  I find these pictures posted today, but there was also a short video.  I did screen shots of them, but they didn't come out clearly. Glad  I had the stills as well.

It was a beautiful spring day here in Ohio today, but I spent most of it indoors. Not because I wanted to do that, but because in addition to  going to Curves and produce shopping,  I had to have a blood test as well as making a visit to my doctor. No, she never sees me outside...just in that little office without windows.

But counting my blessings, I'm not the doctor and I didn't have to stay indoors all day long.  I spent some time with Maggie swinging and watching the boats go by on the lake. So no matter how much I complain about the little things, it is a wonderful life at the lakes.

I am confessing my sin of complaining.  I'm sure  our  God thinks  I'm ungrateful at times...and so does my husband, but I  really don't want to come off that way; so I am publicly proclaiming the goodness of our God and father, who has created a wonderful place for us to live. I can't even imagine how much better heaven with be, except the absence of evil will be more than wonderful.

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Sibling Rivalry



Sibling Rivalry, if there ever was any here, has gone away. Not Brittanie and Brandon are buddies.

It was great that Brittanie was able to visit with her dad and brother in Florida this month. It is a lovely time to be there. It is generally good beach weather, but not yet extremely hot.

Brittanie, who is very different  from me, was built to greet the heat, while I hide from the sun.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Clown



Julia is learning a lot from her brothers...And sometimes she exaggerates. This  tickled me, the gramma.

I would write more, but I'm having a lot of trouble with my new MAC.  I feel like I poured all that money down the drain since I can't use its blue tooth keyboard.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Young Grad


Our great granddaughter, Ava, just graduated yesterday...from preschool. It is hard to believe she will be in kindergarten already. She was just a baby a couple of years ago. Can time really go that fast?
If it gets any quicker, there won't be any use in getting out of bed in the morning.

Ava has a graduation picture as well, but I have a major time consuming project going on right now and haven't had time to make a layout of her big day. I can tell you though, she looked like a little princess.  Perhaps I'll post it here in the next month or two....hopefully before she finishes high school.

Friday, May 18, 2018

Mother's Day Review


Mother’s Day was filled with flowers, a lovely Italian dinner, cards, calls, sweet words and even a surprise video starring April and Chelle’s whole family. It was a very special day for me. I didn’t realize until Wednesday that we didn’t get any pictures. We tried that night, but due to difficulties,  
it didn’t work out well. So on Thursday,  I was able to take a couple of snapshots at my computer.

Thank you all for the special day. I am blessed to have such wonderful caring children.

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Stylin'


Mason just got his hair cut and styled. Of course he's added shades as well, but WOW  look at the difference!  I van hardly wait to see him in person...or even on FaceTime without the sunglasses.  I want to see if he can still charm me with his eyes. That and his wit is what I celebrate. 

He, his brother and sister will be turning 16 in 2 months.  There could be some big changes in that household with more than 2 drivers.

I pray for them to take driving a 2 ton vehicle seriously...no texting, etc. We certainly don't need any serious injuries in the family.

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Sunshine in Pennsylvania



Early spring in Pennsylvania was very much like it was here. Both Pennsylvania and Ohio had a lot of weather that didn't seem like spring at all. But there were a few good days. Lauren and her good friend Annie Olson were able to get out and enjoy some sunshine on April 18. They looked lovely.


Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Chelle Paints


I'm not sure how  I kept this photo hidden so long, but I found it in my files and couldn't resist making a layout...just in time to publish a new book, with pictures taken from the end of December  through May 27 of  this year.

Chelle is very artistic.  It is a talent that has been passed down from my mother, to me, to her and now her daughter, Ashley.   It may not pay well, but it surely is rewarding in another way...it is a lot of fun.

Following is something I have posted before in a more simple form.  It  consists of a Bible verse that is very important to me. Thus I share it as often as I can. I hope you will understand the purpose of this verse and pray this comes into being with our nation. As I see it, we are on the right path, but there is still a large segment of the population without morals, which are necessary. Sadly these immoral people are trying to  teach our children to live despicably selfish and wicked lives.




Sunday, May 13, 2018

3 Little Kids


Yesterday we stopped to admire a little bee. Today we appreciate little kids...my little grandchildren who are learning to appreciate little things as well, with this little friend, a goat.

Befriending animals  is also a good way to bring calm and joy into ones life.   Just be careful. Don't start with bears or tigers, not that you might do that.

Well today is Mother's Day and I had the surprise of my life today.   I was at church where we had gathered between services for muffins, coffee and a tribute to mothers. There was a little humorous entertainment and then they started a video.  It was quite cute with the little children of the congregation guessing how old their parents were. Oh was that cute! There were more questions. Then the children started telling their mothers Happy Mother's Day. That was darling. Then some older people were speaking about their mothers. I didn't know any of them, but I thought the things they said about their mothers were sweet...then all of a sudden...there was one of my daughters on the video. It was April, who lives out of state...they all do. She was saying the nicest things about me, including that I had brought all 6 of them up to know the lord, etc.  By that time I was crying. I need to see that film a few more times, so that I can take it in better. I didn't hear much after that, because  I couldn't quit thinking about what a nice surprise that was...then all of a sudden I saw another daughter, Chelle, with the triplets up there,  saying I mean the world to her and that they love me. That was it.  I could not control my  tears, but then Chelle made me laugh with a little thing we used to always tell each other..."I love you more than you love me." She started it with her children when they were little and added, "yours is fiction." I cracked up. Sorry, but the rest of that video just didn't register with me. I need to watch the whole thing again. Hope I get that chance.

Well  I just got to watch the first part of Chelle's video. She posted it on FaceBook. Now to get the part by April.

I found out the other three were invited  to take part; but John, for example, couldn't at that time. He was not feeling well when he got the message. He had a big knot on his lower lip and he said he looked like he had been punched. He didn't think that would be wise. Probably a wise decision.  I saw him on FaceTime  today and he was right.  It was still swollen.

It was a wonderful day, filled with roses and a good dinner and cards. Thank you all so much.

Saturday, May 12, 2018

The Simple Things


Many times we get so busy with the chores of the day, activities, or even anxiety to just look for the simple things. 

Because our daughter in law is observant and notices these 'little things' she was able to capture this beautiful  picture of the bee gathering nectar. The flower even has more detail than I would generally see going about my daily routines.

These simple things that God put here for us can bring us  a sense of peace and comfort in a world that is often hard to take. Stop and 'smell the roses' at least once in a while. Don't be too busy to do that. Observe the little wonders of our home here on earth. Just try to imagine what He has in store for us in heaven.

Friday, May 11, 2018

Mud, Plus More Mud





I realize the title sounds like Fake News... mud, mud, more mud. But I'm talking yet again about mud...REAL MUD!  I've never in my life seen anyone play in the mud...at least not more than some made with a bucket of water in a sandbox. So this has been very interesting to me to see these kids enjoy it  so much. especially since Julia is a girl.  But a picture is worth a thousand words, and all the pictures we had of them that day add up to about 22,000 words.  Guess anything  I could write will be superfluous, more information than you need.

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Dr Joseph Hamilton Vanderbilt University


Aussie was blessed to meet up with Dr. Joseph Hamilton of Vanderbilt University a couple of weeks ago.  He got a lot out off their conversation. The doctor would make a wonderful roll model for any young man to emulate.

You should read the little bit I wrote about Dr. Hamilton on the layout. He is quite a fascinating  man who has co-discovered  the last three elements on the periodic table. 

Of interest to me is the one he named Tennessine, number 117. 

Muddy Farm Day



Being a boy, Oliver  really enjoyed his muddy day at the farm. After getting REALLY muddy, he decided to get into the pot of water that was there for washing hands.  I'm wondering if this was  just meant to be a muddy hands day and turned into a mud from head to toe day. Whatever the case, Oliver and  his brother and sister all enjoyed Muddy Day.


Sunday, May 6, 2018



Julia did like her basket on Easter morning.  I think she liked her chocolate as well.  I like her little cuddly jacket.  It is like her grandmothers...and I'm wearing it right now. I run cold frequently now at my age.  I glanced at the thermometer and surprise, it reads 75. Guess I need to shed the pink jacket.



Saturday, May 5, 2018

International Scrapbook Day



Every year  I look forward to National Scrapbook Day. It is a day to set aside other pursuits and live it up with your computer and hopefully with some scrapbook friends as well. However, it never seems to work out that way here. If I were an island, I would pour myself into it all day; but I am not.
There are always other things to do as well. At least I can say, I am not lonely.

I did manage to do a couple of pages today and start a few more.

The one above tells of my pleasure of getting a new desktop computer in April, with a picture of it on  your bottom right. I have already donned it with many post it notes of shortcuts, etc. Although the screen looks small, it is not.

One of the interesting parts of our day included  dinner with friends and a free show.  We witnessed a man being arrested across the street from the restaurant. Although we hadn't noticed him inside, we were told he had been there and for some reason left in a huff and sat on a bench across the street, staring at us through the window.  We were not in a bad part of town, so we were not afraid. But obviously we had missed something because the police were called.

The fellow was a large guy. He was wearing socks, but no shoes. He looked strong. The policeman was small in comparison. But it went well. Even though the man was struggling after being handcuffed, and the taser gun was drawn, it didn't have to be used. The policeman called for reinforcement and then an ambulance. We had ring side seats there at the window.

I wish I could quit thinking about the poor man. Obviously, from what we heard, he was not thinking straight, perhaps he was on drugs or mentally ill. It is sad to see people behave in such strange  ways.
Hopefully, he will get the care he needs, even if it means staying in jail a while.

I'll be praying for him and his family...if he has one.

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Portage Lakes Dam



I could write a lot about this project that will affect our lives through the summer boating season and beyond; but the main purpose of my blog is in being a creative outlet...not a history. I prefer to spend my time at present creating layouts, not writing; although I do enjoy writing and would like to write at least one book as well.  There just isn't enough time in the day.  

If perchance you would like to know more about the fascinating subject of the Portage Lakes Dam Project, you can google it to get the history behind it, the purpose, the work being done and what could happen in its absence.  

There are also some good stories associated with it like, while digging under the lake, they accidentally cut a large copper cable that belonged to the phone company and phones were out for quite a while until they could take care of the problem.

Monday, April 30, 2018

Another Rubik's Cube Competition



Aussie is up with the Rubik's Cube Champion Competitions. As a matter of fact, he was also one of the organizers of this one in Georgia in April.

If you've seen many of his competitions, you may have noticed that he has a look that screams Aussie. He certainly has this look down.  Not only does he have long purple hair, but a t shirt under a plaid button down one. And of course now there are his glasses as well. We know you Aussie and are very proud of you.


Sunday, April 29, 2018

Finally Easter




It is good to have Easter layouts now, even though I am a month late. Things were moving slowly for our family in CO this spring, due to a lot of illness. I believe everyone of them suffered from something.  Because of that the Easter egg hunt was done in the backyard. But when we get kids, eggs and baskets together, we'll have cute pictures and this year was no exception...as you can see here.  Caleb, Oliver and Julia had a good time.

Saturday, April 28, 2018

I've Got Your Back



I've worked mostly on Easter layouts today, but this one I'm posting, I did this evening. It features a picture of the boys taken today.   It is more always fun for me when I have time to scrapbook recent photos.

Oliver is a pretty heavy boy, so Caleb is strong. I am proud of both of them.


Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Sweet Liberty



On the long walk from the hotel to the cruise ship, Mason sat  down for a bit to rest. Kennedy spotted him there and  took the liberty of joining  him, making him blush a bit and providing the opportunity for a proof picture of them 'loitering' in front of the sign, "No Loitering".

Then we have Mason in view of the statue of liberty, given to us by France.   For quite a while now our countries have not seen eye to eye on much...at least the French people didn't seem to like us that well. However, now that we have our president Trump and they have elected a new president, Emmanuel Macron, we are walking hand in hand.  Praise God for the renewal of  our fellowship.

It is wonderful to live in a free country where we have sweet liberty. I am asking God  to continue to bless us with the freedom given to us by our Constitution and to prevent those who would do our country wrong and take away that freedom, from doing that.





Monday, April 23, 2018

Messy Hands Art



This is the Art Show we've been looking forward to for a while. There were four weeks of art lessons at the Harmony Library in Fort Collins, then this show so that the children could display their artistic abilities.  On the page at the top is Julia, whose expressions show how pleased she is with her robot. It is well done and she is cute as can be.

The next  layout features Oliver and his art. He made a robot and a tempura painting as well as a foam print of a cheetah, which is very well done.

Their parents and big brother helped them 'celebrate' their work at the art show. 

We are proud of these two and are happy they enjoyed the class and the art show itself.

Sunday, April 22, 2018

Just Us



I am thankful that April snapped this picture of us while she was here. We really should have more pictures taken together. After all, it has been 50 1/2  years since we got married. We spend much more time together than we were ever able to do while he was working and we were raising 6 kids.

We raised them and thankfully they are all responsible, self supporting men and women. However they all live too far from here. Thank the Lord for FaceTime.

All we have here with us now is our spoiled little dog.

Saturday, April 21, 2018

You Have to Love It




Julia aka Juju has a great appetite. She is a very good eater. And of course she is now learning to help herself. So while her family was talking at breakfast, Oliver called their attention to Julia. She had taken it upon herself to add to her breakfast...ketchup...lots of ketchup!  Evidently she found it quite tasty and was eating it by the spoonful. You just have to love it.






Thursday, April 19, 2018

Nashville Cherry Blossom Festival

The Cherry Blossom Festival in Washington, DC this year was March 17- April 15.

Nashville had it's own festivel on Saturday, March 14.  Part of the celebration is of the  Japanese culture,  since the cherry trees were brought here from Japan many years ago.

Ashley dressed in a kimono for the day.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Messy Hands Art



I've spent more time doing layouts the last few days, than I have for some time now. Actually so much that  I'm having trouble getting other things that I must do done. Anyone else have that problem?  I know, making layouts is much more fun. And it is very easy to do what one likes instead of what one needs to do. I am guilty now.

I love the fact that these pictures of Oliver and Julia fit so well with some of the art supplies I have in my stash of digi papers and embellishments.

I'm looking forward to their art show coming soon.

They are so blessed to have a mom who is there for them. Thank you, Beth.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Indoor Amusement Park




Brittanie  took Ava to the IX Center in Cleveland for the Indoor Amusement Park, which is an annual occurrence there. March 23 was the opening day this year and that is the when these pictures were taken. Looks like they had lots of fun.




Monday, April 16, 2018

Subway



Well, I would not have posted this layout tonight, but  I already told Mason that I would.  I had forgotten when I told him, that he was posted here last night. I try to mix it up, so that I won't slight anyone, but scrap all the photos that I can.

Part of experiencing the Big Apple is riding the subway. As Mason said, it was very helpful for getting around in the city.  I'm not sure he was impressed in any other way by it.

As  I type tonight, I am thinking about those close to me who are flying. Praying for safe trips.

Father, I pray that more and more people will find the love they need in Jesus Christ our Savior. Let us not take your love for granted, but let us learn to love others as we love ourselves.

I especially pray for those who have so lost their way, that they may never see the light.  I pray that somehow in some way, you will be able to reach them.

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Dressing Up For History Class



While Mason is in high school in Tennessee and Caleb  is an elementary student in Colorado, both had interesting history classes. Mason decided to dress at Stalin for extra credit, while Caleb dressed as a Pioneer boy for his class Pioneer Day.  Both looked very authentic.

Well as has become the norm,  I am very tired and interested in 'hitting the hay' as they may have said in Pioneer days.

Before I close, however, I have more information about yesterday's blog photo. The picture was taken at Scheels All Sports in Johnstown, Colorado in February.  I understand it is a must visit, so adding that to our bucket list, which may in itself wrap around the world at this time.